We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A must do experience in Xian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haidilao Hot Pot Cheng (Jiefang Road)

Haidilao Hot Pot Cheng (Jiefang Road)
Ranked #3 of 1,657 Restaurants in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Elanora, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must do experience in Xian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This was a highlight for us visiting this restaurant! The service was above and beyond and the food was delicious. We made our own sauce then cooked our food hot pot style. The staff took photos of us and printed and gave to us and really made the whole experience fun. I would highly recommend, hard to find but worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Felfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    24
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Aside from the warriors this was highlight. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

So much fun. Nobody speaks English. Lots of finger pointing. We had the best time. Be prepared to not know what your eating. This is what makes it fun.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
323 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Entertaining! ! Must make a reservation. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

It's always entertaining to come eat here, we were luck to get a server that could speak a little english to help with the ordering. Last time we were at a Haidilao we ended up getting a way to spicy hot pot. Make sure if you don't want spicy you make it clear to them when you pick the broths.
Ordering is done thru an ipad with good pictures, so it is easy to find what you want.
The noodle guys was a highlight, swinging the noodles around the room.
The restaurant is very popular with the Chinese and is always full with wuge lineups. Book a table early if you don't want to wait an hour or more or otherwise go very early for dinner. 5pm or so.

Helpful?
2 Thank Clodruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best value meal in China...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

On a visit to the Terracotta Army and staying for 2 nights we visited the Hot Pot and were extremely pleased with the resulting meal.
We ate well, had a few beers and walked away after a little "noodle show" with a bill for Y170 (£17).
Something not to miss if you are in Xi'an.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Studd2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
205 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Loved the entertaining "noodle dancer"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My friends in Xia'n took us here for dinner during a very crowded night.

I loved the guy who made the noodles in our room while dancing and turning with a "Michael Jackson-ish" hat on his head.

The staff told me that one of the best "noodle dancer" works at the restaurant but unfortunately she (or he?) was away for a business trip to Singapore!

Would like to go back for some hot pot and noodles!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skucla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Haidilao Hot Pot Cheng (Jiefang Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing