We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Outsanding italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant

Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 1,660 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outsanding italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Italian food here was really really surprisingly good. Xi'an is a pretty grey place with touches of Westernisation, and the usual chain shops, but you don't really expect anything amazing there.

This restaurant was buried round the back of a grey block, up an elevator. But when you walk inside you immediately feel a sense of warmth from the place.

We love the quality of the Italian food here. The pizza I had was really first rate with an amazing thin, wood fired crust. We also enjoyed the 'wine buffet' where you paid a set price and could drink as much wine as you wanted! Great value for China!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkG78_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    40
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Surprisingly good Italian food in China”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I agree with other reviews that it's tricky to find. Hint - it's between the ICBC bank and the fire station on the corner of Xihuaman and north street. Once you find it it's well worth the effort.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CFJ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were lucky concierge walked us there as previous readers said difficult to find- we ordered garlic bread, pasta & pizza. They were tasty and fresh- not the best but certainly good by Chinese standards. We had the house white wine from South Africa which was reasonably priced and tasted best had whilst in China. We all enjoyed the restaurant and service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Belinda19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An excellent meal and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

It took us a little while to find as we tried the main entrance to the building with no luck so we had to go round the side where the entrance to the underground car park is to find the entrance. The food was very good - great bruschetta with very tasty tomatoes and very tasty pasta with arrabbiata sauce and bacon. The trio of deserts to share was very generous. They had a good wine selection at reasonable prices - something that we has not really found in other restaurants. The waiter was very attentive and the service impeccable. One of the nicest Italian meals I have had for a long time and great value for money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank margiedrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food and price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Was al little bit difficult to find but once we came out of the elevator on the 11th floor and found the door to the restaurant we where surprises by the nice atmosphere. The food was good and the price was right. Don't expect the best Italian food but the oil and vinegar and details are good. We had nice staters like the tomato mozzarella with good basil sauce. As main pizza which was fresh out the oven. It would recommend this place to anybody who wants to have a break from the local Chinese food!

Helpful?
1 Thank Geert31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing