We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good food and price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant

Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 1,666 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food and price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Was al little bit difficult to find but once we came out of the elevator on the 11th floor and found the door to the restaurant we where surprises by the nice atmosphere. The food was good and the price was right. Don't expect the best Italian food but the oil and vinegar and details are good. We had nice staters like the tomato mozzarella with good basil sauce. As main pizza which was fresh out the oven. It would recommend this place to anybody who wants to have a break from the local Chinese food!

Helpful?
1 Thank Geert31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    40
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lucky there's no competition”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I've been coming to Xi'an for 2 months/year for about 6 years now. Colabo used to be one of the best restaurants in the city, but that was when there was little competition. The food and dining room are average (great for Western food in Xi'an). The service is friendly, but inflexible and lazy. At my last visit, my friend and I ordered the exact same pasta at the same time. The two orders arrived 30 minutes apart. Maybe it's their strategy - I ended up eating extra bread while I waited, which they charged me for. I tried to change my order to something faster, but they told me it was impossible. My friend was Chinese and very proud to be taking me there, so I didn't want him to lose face by cancelling my order and complaining. Otherwise, there's no way I would have waited so long for 200g of pasta.
This restaurant would not survive amid experienced, professional competition.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kundziu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's good because there's little else...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have been to Colabo a few times while in Xi'an as I visit here regularly due to business. It's standard Italian fare but can be hit and miss. Some pizzas are good some are just covered in ingredients and cheesed to death. Food a tad over priced I feel. Caesar salad really is terrible and don't ask for any variations to any dish as you are likely to get a "No" as a response. The chocolate pudding desert is great though. Portions seem to keep getting smaller. Décor is very basic. However, it's still the best Italian food in Xi'an, so there you have it...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Konrad8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go for the classic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have heard about this restaurant when asking for western food (after 10 days of Chinese food non-stop, a break is always well appreciated).
The location is a bit strange, as it is in an office building. But once inside, you forget about how you came in.
Fuwuyuan are very welcoming.
My friend and I shared a carpaccio as a starter, delicious! Then she went for a pizza while I tried the salmon. The pizza was perfect, while my salmon was good, but nothing really special.
Panacotta as a dessert was a good choice. We haven't tried any other.

Price is very fair, considering the quality of the food.
Recommendation: go for the classic pizza, you won't be disappointed! ;)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eloise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackheath NSW
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An Italian Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We arrived at Colabo with some scepticism. Would it live up to our expectations or would it be like the pseudo French place down the road, serving abalone and with a massive photo of the Eiffel Tower the only sign of France that we could see.

From the moment we sat down in Colabo we were impressed by the enthusiasm, friendliness and efficiency of all the staff. They had been extremely well trained. The food was excellent and portions generous, though as non-Italians we wouldn't presume to say it was authentic. We'll leave that up to Italian natives but to our taste it was brilliant!

The restaurant filled up rapidly and it was encouraging to see that the numbers of staff increased proportionately. All through the evening we were well looked after and had a marvellous time.

Other reviewers are right ... if you're looking for Western food for a change, Colabo is the place to go.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing