We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the classic”

Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 1,671 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go for the classic”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have heard about this restaurant when asking for western food (after 10 days of Chinese food non-stop, a break is always well appreciated).
The location is a bit strange, as it is in an office building. But once inside, you forget about how you came in.
Fuwuyuan are very welcoming.
My friend and I shared a carpaccio as a starter, delicious! Then she went for a pizza while I tried the salmon. The pizza was perfect, while my salmon was good, but nothing really special.
Panacotta as a dessert was a good choice. We haven't tried any other.

Price is very fair, considering the quality of the food.
Recommendation: go for the classic pizza, you won't be disappointed! ;)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eloise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    42
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackheath NSW
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An Italian Surprise”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We arrived at Colabo with some scepticism. Would it live up to our expectations or would it be like the pseudo French place down the road, serving abalone and with a massive photo of the Eiffel Tower the only sign of France that we could see.

From the moment we sat down in Colabo we were impressed by the enthusiasm, friendliness and efficiency of all the staff. They had been extremely well trained. The food was excellent and portions generous, though as non-Italians we wouldn't presume to say it was authentic. We'll leave that up to Italian natives but to our taste it was brilliant!

The restaurant filled up rapidly and it was encouraging to see that the numbers of staff increased proportionately. All through the evening we were well looked after and had a marvellous time.

Other reviewers are right ... if you're looking for Western food for a change, Colabo is the place to go.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

we were a bit tired of Chinese food, so chose this restaurant instead. It was a bit hard to find, but totally worth the long walk and wait. It's not cheap, but not expensive either for that quality. Wine was surprisingly good also. All in all, good experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klaabukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising fawn
2 reviews
“Great place for a nice dinner in Xian.”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed ourselves quite a bit considering how hard we looked for an Italian restaurant.

We had the cheese plate to start and a bottle of house red. The cheese plate was small but tasty. We shared the large caesar salad and would have been perfect if it was been a little more crisp. I enjoyed a Filet that was tender and cooked perfectly. My husband had the lasagna and it was fresh but needed a nice tomato sauce.

All the staff friendly, on point and well trained. They understand food time well here and for me that counts.

We would absolutely go back. As others have said it is a bit difficult to find. More signs would be helpful.

Over all great experience. Remember: It is China not Italy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wild_Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Why eat Italian in china?”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Well I guess us westerners need comfort food when we are traveling. There isd only so much Szechaun spice youj can tolerate before you need something blander. Not to say that the food here is bland - far from it. A good meal, good value and excellent service all at a reasonable price (1000 rmb for 4 people, 3 courses plus wine and beers). More expensive than eating local cuisine but that's only to be expected.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing