We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from China Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience China Tours
from $879.00
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
from $1,684.00
More Info
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveler rating
420
30
3
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
420
30
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews china tour private tour yangtze river cruise travel consultant day tour tour guides were knowledgeable guides spoke excellent english three gorges awesome trip small group acrobat show airport or train station elephant trunk hill terracotta warriors grand mercure bullet train always on time
Filter
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 457 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

the tour description led us to believe that the boat was going thru the LOCKs at the 3 gorges dam.what really took place was that we were haphazardly shunted into buses after sitting in the stationary boat for 6 hrs. and taken on a tour of the gorges offices and grounds.
there were very few facilities on the boat and few activities planned.no library ,ill equipped gym.food was monotonous .worst of all was that very few staff members spoke any english.the tour guide on board assigned to my group hardly spoke english and appeared only to try and collect her tip.
this was the cruise part .the land part of our tour in chungking,chengdu,xian was ok.
we had booked the up river cruise on the yangtse and land tour of chungking,chengdu and xian.

5  Thank virma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny B, Director of Sales at China Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thankyou for your review. We are sorry that the Yangtze cruise did not meet your expectations. It seems there may have been a problem on the river over the period of your travel. Being shuttled by bus to tour the locks is not a usual occurance with Yangtze Cruising on the ships we offer.
We appreciate your positive comments covering the land part of your tour in Chongqing, Chengdu and Xian. We would be happy to investigate the issue with your Yangtze Cruise - please contact our office with your tracking no and we will respond to you directly.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our family of 5 (children ages 10,15 and 17) had a fantastic 11 day holiday to Beijing, Xian, Guilin, Yangshou and Shanghai. We opted for the private luxury class trip and the hotels and buffet breakfasts were terrific. We felt safe and secure arriving at airports to be met by smiling guides and drivers who would check us into our hotels and be waiting for us every morning to take us to our next sightseeing adventure. Climbing the Great Wall was a highlight, the Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven were awesome, visiting the Terracotta Warriors was a lifetime dream come true. I was initially nervous to deal with a Chinese travel company, but it turned out to be the best decision we made. We saved thousands of dollars and had the flexibility of a tour service dedicated to our family. Highly recommended.

4  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny B, Director of Sales at China Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thankyou for your review. The team at Chinatours.com prides itself on offering Family Friendly tour options within China. We are pleased that your family had a memorable adventure with us to The Middle Kingdom and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I travelled from Australia to China before attending a conference in Singapore. It was the beginning of winter and we were the only ones on a private tour for 10 days. We spent time in Beijing, Xian, Guilin (including a Li river cruise to Yangshou) and Shanghai. We had a guide and driver for each destination and all were knowledgable, attentive to our needs and happy to be flexible. The cost was very reasonable especially considering there were three domestic flights, a river cruise and excellent food provided. December is cold but fewer tourists are at the major venues. We chose the 3 star level of accommodation and were happy with the quality. We usually travel independently and being on a fully guided tour was a novelty but I believe it is the best way to visit China when time is short and you can't speak the language!

1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny B, Director of Sales at China Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thankyou for your review.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in our fantastic country.
Our guides play an integral role in making your journey throughout China as smooth and informative as possible, so its great to receive positive comments highlighting their knowledge, attention and flexibility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Late last fall my wife and I spent a month in China. We had four extra days between another tour and a conference, so I went on the Internet and found a promising private tour to Guilin and Yanghuo by ChinaTours.

It turned out to be a favorite highlight of our trip.

Our guide and driver were attentive and knowledgeable. The mix of organized activities and free time was perfect. We opted for five star hotels, which met our expectations.

ChinaTours exceeded our expectations in responding to a glitch in one of our domestic flights. We weren't informed about a flight cancellation and change in departing airports out of Shanghai until we were already at the wrong airport. We had to pay for a last minute flight. When we arrived in Guilin, our guide not only had the cash to reimburse us for the flight, but even paid an extra amount for our trouble.

1  Thank PeterButzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny B, Director of Sales at China Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thankyou for your review.
The Guilin and Yangshuo area is a destination favoured by many.
Sometimes glitches do occur with cancelled flights, and ChinaTours.com would always be there to fix any problems you may encounter - we appreciate your kind words recognising this effort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I only had 9 days in China and China Tours organised our trip so that we were able to see most of the important sites. We had a marvellous time and everything ran to clockwork. We were met by our friendly and knowledgable guide at each of the cities we visited which made everything very easy. Would highly recommend the company to anyone wanting a well organised pleasant trip to China.

Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny B, Director of Sales at China Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thankyou for your review.
We are pleased that you had a memorable trip to China.
Our guides appreciate your kind words highlighting their knowledge and customer service.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews