We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Still very good, possibly even improving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delhi Darbar Xi'an

Delhi Darbar Xi'an
Ranked #18 of 1,657 Restaurants in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Xi'an, China
Level Contributor
188 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Still very good, possibly even improving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is my third of what seems to be becoming an annual review of the most affordable and central Indian restaurant in Xi'an. To be honest, it's the ONLY decent one anywhere near the tourist radar, as the 'posh' one is quite a trek to the west.
As I've trawled my way through the menu I've discovered that the more you experiment with dishes here the greater the reward. The British 'staples' of Tikka Massala and Korma are actually the weakest elements on the menu, being a tad bland and watery, whereas the Hyderabadi Biriani, the cumin pilau and the Murgh Malai Tikka, as well as the Bhindi Masala are all delectable.
The problem, if it can be termed such, is that the restaurant is becoming more and more popular, especially with Indian tour groups, who seemingly every single day fill the place from about 7pm to around 8.30pm. I joked to the manager that he's 'gonna need a bigger restaurant' but really it's true, couples are finding it tough to get a table at times and the outdoor tables where you're shunted to don't really cut it in terms of size and comfort.
Overall though, if you can get seated and served it's huge value for money and a definite recommendation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LiJames77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“excellent food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

the food and the manager of the restaurant can be described in one word.....excellent! they hardly take 15-20 mins to prepare the food of your choice whether it is south Indian or north Indian cuisine. the place is not that big but enough for small groups but the food is very tasty and that is what counts!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monesh-Mishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Most reliable in Xi'an”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I've been going to Delhi Darbar since 2007 and plan on continuing in the future. The food is consistently good. The portions are large and the naan is freshly made to order. Sometimes they bring around free masala cha. The manager is a friendly Indian man who can converse in several languages, and he always tries to make us feel welcome.
There are a few other Indian restaurants in Xi'an, but this one is the best. Red Fort recently opened near Gaoxin, and their food and environment are good, but it's way overpriced and the portions are half as big as Delhi Darbar.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kundziu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average Indian restaurant at Xian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Considering the fact that this is probably the ONLY Indian restaurant in Xian, it could've been improved over the past few years. I have been visiting this place since 2009, and I couldn't see any improvement. The seating could at least been re arranged.. We were a group of 34, and even before we were seated, another group of 30 walked in. Both our groups had booked earlier, and the owner did not bother to see whether one lot was seated, before he admitted the second group. Food was very average. Overall, not a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Surajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Break From China”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Normal, simple Indian restaurant. Food was good and fast. The owner (?) is a very nice guy from India that (of course) speaks english, something rare in China. It was a perfect break from China...

Helpful?
1 Thank LOFT61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Delhi Darbar Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing