We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food!”
Review of Delhi Darbar

Delhi Darbar
Ranked #18 of 1,675 Restaurants in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
135 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“excellent food!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

the food and the manager of the restaurant can be described in one word.....excellent! they hardly take 15-20 mins to prepare the food of your choice whether it is south Indian or north Indian cuisine. the place is not that big but enough for small groups but the food is very tasty and that is what counts!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monesh-Mishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    21
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Most reliable in Xi'an”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I've been going to Delhi Darbar since 2007 and plan on continuing in the future. The food is consistently good. The portions are large and the naan is freshly made to order. Sometimes they bring around free masala cha. The manager is a friendly Indian man who can converse in several languages, and he always tries to make us feel welcome.
There are a few other Indian restaurants in Xi'an, but this one is the best. Red Fort recently opened near Gaoxin, and their food and environment are good, but it's way overpriced and the portions are half as big as Delhi Darbar.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kundziu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average Indian restaurant at Xian”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Considering the fact that this is probably the ONLY Indian restaurant in Xian, it could've been improved over the past few years. I have been visiting this place since 2009, and I couldn't see any improvement. The seating could at least been re arranged.. We were a group of 34, and even before we were seated, another group of 30 walked in. Both our groups had booked earlier, and the owner did not bother to see whether one lot was seated, before he admitted the second group. Food was very average. Overall, not a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Surajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Break From China”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Normal, simple Indian restaurant. Food was good and fast. The owner (?) is a very nice guy from India that (of course) speaks english, something rare in China. It was a perfect break from China...

Helpful?
1 Thank LOFT61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I ordered takeaway from this place. The vindaloo is not spicy at all. Not good.

This restaurant is situated directly on the west side of Wild Goose Pagoda. From the west of the pagoda, just walk westward until you hit a t-junction, with Ci'en West road and Yanta West road. The restaurant is the first one opposite the road. There are many more restaurants along the Yanta West road and further down, there is another Indian restaurant. It is slightly pricer than Delhi but I don't know about the taste as I did not try it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cwcyenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delhi Darbar also viewed

 

Been to Delhi Darbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing