We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good show but bad food!”
Review of Tang Dynasty Show

Tang Dynasty Show
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Evening Tang Dynasty Show: Experience Rich Culture of Ancient China in Xi'an
Ranked #1 of 9 Concerts & Shows in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Everyone will meet at the lobby of Tang Dynasty Palace by 7:00pm for you to get a ticket with your name. Enjoy the Splendid Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show with fabulous music and dancing of Tang Dynasty, China's golden age. The show is also a different way for you to get to know the historical culture of ancient Xian city. What is great about this excursion is that it combines two great elements in one tour - an entertaining show and dumpling banquet that indulge all your senses. The dumpling banquet comes with approx. 18 varieties of dumplings including pork, chicken, mushroom and duck with leeks, carrots, lotus roots and more. The dumpling banquet starts around 7:00pm and after dinner you will enjoy the Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show. The show ends about 9:40pm and the tour ends at the Tang Dynasty Palace.
Texas
Level Contributor
206 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good show but bad food!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a Las Vegas style Chinese production of songs and dances with fabulous costumes and production design. The show was very entertaining. It was very touristy but I was there as a tourist. Our program included a dynasty dinner with fancy sounding courses but awful food. They tasted more like frozen Chinese food from an American supermarket. One of the courses was named Heart of the Dragon and was described as crispy fresh king prawns. It really was just regular shrimp (not king prawns) that was neither fresh or crispy. The show was part of our tour but I found out in a flyer how much the show and dinner cost. I would recommend just going for the show (half the price) and having dinner elsewhere. This would have gotten a higher rating if not for the bad and overpriced food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OrpheusTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    261
    95
    32
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Tang Dynasty Dinner Show, Xian, China”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A wonderful experience - excellent dinner served while watching beautifully attired young girls playing traditional Chinese instruments and wonderfully colourful graceful dancing. This was an excursion as part of our Gate 1 tour of China - would highly recommend.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
289 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Immerse in culture - Great Experience”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Tang Dynasty Dinner Show is a great experience of rich cultural past of China. From the brightly lit exteriors of the theatre to the bright, clean , well maintained theatre everything reminded me that it does give a sense of pride to recollect one's past history and rich cultural habits. The dance, songs, costumes were very beautiful to watch so please do carry a camera.A recording of the entire song and dance is also available after the show so it sure forms a great souvenior.Dinner is part of the experience-infact the dinner menu is non vegetarian so plan accordingly.The ushers and staff serving dinner speak English and it just becomes an easy experience.Incase you want anything extra-like a glass of wine you would have to pay extra. This theatre features songs, dances, rare musical instruments and is the only theatre in China to feature a live band/orchestra to accompany the dance sequences.Some of the locals also stood up when artists dressed as the King and Queen of the Tang Dynasty paraded through the audience. If you have the time you must experience this show-quite a spectacle.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank keentraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“THE WHOLE PRODUCTION IS FANTASTIC”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Thia was on our Gate 1 Tour package sponsored by Gate 1. I am so glad that even after a full day of touristing in Xi'an that we had this experience. THE SHOW IS TOP and really I wish everyone would have a chance to vie iw this production,based on the relationship of an emperor with a very beautiful concubine Yang. The orchestra, the artists, the costuming is just all done so professional. We were given a souveneir program. Our meal for that night was totaly luxury. The Theater is also just a beautiful attraction. At night the town is so very well designed to be lighted in a top decor scenario. THIS IS A MUST for Xi'an. Our group toured the park,danced with the locals, participated in their ballroom dancing and top spinning games and we were energized to also attend this glorious production in Xi'an.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank advisorview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Dumplings more memorable than the show!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Part of our organised tour - One dumpling each from each course makes 17 dumplings in all and 28 larger dumplings leaving the theater later. There's a wonderful array of flavours even with the pig featuring frequently. The show is very good with wonderful costumes if a little contrived.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Will_Of_The_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tang Dynasty Show also viewed

 

Been to Tang Dynasty Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing