We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaanxi History Museum

Shaanxi History Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Half-Day Private City Tour of Shaanxi History Museum and Big Wild Goose Pagoda
Ranked #5 of 332 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This history museum, housed in a magnificent Confucian Temple, features more than 370,000 pieces of historical relics mainly from the Zhou to the Tang periods (1100B.C. to 907 A.D.).
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
531 reviews
220 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I made the mistake of coming here on mid-autumn festival, so it was really busy, queued for twenty minutes for a ticket but after that no real problems. The museum was good, don't get me wrong, but a little worn around the edges. The exhibits in glass display cabinets were good but the glass was filthy, thousands of sweaty hands everyday and no obvious signs of cleaning. Many descriptions were damaged or illegible which only added to the sense of neglect. The stuff on display was amazing but the experience could have been so much better. I also object to paying extra to see a "temporary exhibit" that has been there since 2010!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MattwalesNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    660
    420
    119
    26
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Interested but crowed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I realize that the time and season at which you visit this museum may determine how many other visitors are there, but our visit was incredibly crowed and filled with tour groups. And although it's possible to get free tickets, just buy yours and avoid the long line. The museum has some amazing pieces from Chinese history, including giving you the ability to get your closest look at some not-encased Terra-cotta warriors - there are about a dozen - as well as some other artifacts from the tombs. There are large collections of other Chinese artifacts from many different time periods spanning a decent time span, including a voyage through the ancient silk road.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This museum had a much stronger collection that I'd expected. (I'm an art historian who works on Italy.) If you're interested in commerce along the Silk Road, you'll like it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
193 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This museum takes you from pre-history through the Tang and Ming dynasties. There are many different relicts to see. If you like history this is the place to go in Xi'an. There are free tickets to be had or if you want to bypass the huge line buy a ticket for 20 RMB. Hire a good tour guide while in Xi'an and it will make a huge difference. I used Michael Yang and he was great!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Duane1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Shaanxi Hostory Museum Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I like the extensive history of the Tong, Zhou and Han dynasties in Xi'an.

Interesting gold, silver and jade figurines. A college student acted as our guide.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank zonkerdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shaanxi History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing