We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an awsome experience”

Shaanxi History Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Half-Day Private City Tour of Shaanxi History Museum and Big Wild Goose Pagoda
More Info
$106.80*
and up
Xi'an Full-Day Trip: Terracotta Warriors and Horses Museum and Xi'an Museum
More Info
$97.00*
and up
Small Group Day Tour of Xi'an City Highlights
Ranked #5 of 336 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This history museum, housed in a magnificent Confucian Temple, features more than 370,000 pieces of historical relics mainly from the Zhou to the Tang periods (1100B.C. to 907 A.D.).
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“an awsome experience”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Shaanxi museum is free to all foreign tourist .Dont forget to take your passport as they need to verify you are a tourist .Great place and many things to see .Excavation site ,pottery and lots of utensils and weapons .It takes more than 3 hours and we missed many of the parts as we were there in afternoon .It has a rich history and is well maintained ..It has amenities like toilets etc .
Pictures would say a lot about this place

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MAILRIQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    698
    447
    124
    27
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NORTH RICHLAND HILLS
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This Museum is a Great Introduction to the TerraCotta Warrors”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I really nice place to visit. It had a lot of information that provided a great introduction to the TerraCotta Warriors which we were to see the next day.
It has some really wonderful exhibits or TerraCotta Warrior reproductions

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyg127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A surprisingly pleasant visit”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

It was the guide that brought this museum visit to life, so ensure you walk around with someone that can talk about the exhibits. We had a lesson in Chinese calligraphy (well worth doing) and had the chance to buy some local students art work.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good - but ticket purchasing is a neusiance”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The museum and its exhibits were great and impressive enough to warrant a visit.

The ticketing was ridiculous and chaotic however - we were lucky that our driver took care of it for us (my wife is pregnant and I was on crutches) as I would've been very annoyed to stand in a queue outside in the un-sheltered sun for 20+ minutes otherwise.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A great day”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A wonderful museum with many wonderful exhibits. All the signs and exhibits had English translations which were great as we could take our own time and look at the articles and pieces on display with out the need of a guide. This is a very educational place and we learnt a lot about Chinese history during our visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Queen_Of_Hearts25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shaanxi History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing