We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Couple of Nights”
Review of Gudu Wenhua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gudu Wenhua Hotel
Ranked #23 of 2,652 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great hotel to use as a base to visit the sights of Xian.
The rooms were clean but the beds were a little hard for my liking.
A good selection for breakfast let down on occasions because it was cold.
The free lobby wifi was a bit hit and miss.
A little grumble, the drinks prices in the bar were expensive although we did find cheaper local alternatives about 100 yards turning right outside the hotel.
A highlight for me was the cultural show in the theatre attached to the hotel.Colourful costumes, great stage sets a fabulous experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chubbyluvdrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 645 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely hotel and comfortable rooms pity about the breakfasts, tinned fruit and eggs...... lots of Chinese bits. (I love Chinese food but not for breakfast ).
the rooms were comfortable and clean, the beds a little on the firm side but this appears to be standard in China. We had a room at the back which over looked the huge frieze of three terracotta warriors and a Buddhist temple.

A must see is the show in the hotel. we had the banquet and then watched the show, fantastic food and the show was very good.

Room Tip: High floor at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmcconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel was the second hotel we stayed in while on a "Highlight of China" tour. It was a very nice, clean, comfortable hotel. The buffet breakfast was very good. The rooms were spacious and clean. Our room overlooked the rear of the hotel, which allowed us to see a large Buddhist Temple, and we were able to hear music , and watch the monks walking around , which I thought was pretty neat. The bedding here was a little harder than our last hotel ( Courtyard Marriott, Shanghai , Puxi ), which gets worse as our tour progressed.

Room Tip: As a Scotch Whiskey drinker, I urge caution in attempting to buy Scotch near this hotel. It seems t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank-Judi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The rooms were clean, roomy and comfortable. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast selection was good with both western and Chinese food available, while wifi was free in the lobby. Would be happy to stay here should we return to Xi’an.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalinya_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel was very good, but not quite excellent.
The buffet Breakfast was top notch.-- Plenty of food and Omelets Cooked to order.
The rooms were clean, but internet was not cheap. In fact we decided to not get connected during the time we were at the hotel
The mural outside the rear of the lobby was fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnnyg127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a day and did not have any major problems. In almost all the hotels in china the pillows and bed are very hard and this hotel is no exception.the minimum coffee tea sachets are not being provided

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalasubramanyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Good comfortable hotel. stayed for three nights. Breakfast was good, nice variety. comfortable room. Weren't helpful to find a cab all too hard!

Find the bus to go to terracotta warriers and back again. The taxi's are a rip off - charge ridiculous rates to get around, beware of BLACK TAXI don't use them

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayOz q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
3.6 mi away
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
#25 of 2,652 in Xi'an
872 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aurum International
Aurum International
#42 of 2,652 in Xi'an
193 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#10 of 2,652 in Xi'an
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#29 of 2,652 in Xi'an
100 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
1.6 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gudu Wenhua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gudu Wenhua Hotel

Address: No.172 Lianhu Road, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#22 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $49 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gudu Wenhua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gudu Wenhua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand New World
Grand New World Hotel Xian
Grand New World Xi An
Gudu Wenhua Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing