We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large comfy beds!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gudu Wenhua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gudu Wenhua Hotel
Ranked #17 of 2,532 Hotels in Xi'an
Great Britain
Level Contributor
305 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Large comfy beds!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Nice comfy bed. Tea & coffee making in the room. As usual the water out of the tap needs to be boiled before drinking. Bottled water is provided free of charge.
Good variety of western and Chinese food for breakfast.
Would stay here again. Helpful and pleasant staff. Well situated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromtheEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    327
    125
    28
    5
See reviews for
81
204
36
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel was very clean with an impressive lobby, some excellent gift shops, a very good restaurant where both western and chinese foods were available and a vibrant community just to the right of main entrance. Lots of barbecue life going on and a good little supermarket with charming proprietors! We didn't eat at the stalls but the smell was delicious!

Our room was large and clean however slightly smokey as we arrived. The windows were opening so we soon got rid of the stale atmosphere, however very quickly realised we were overlooking a fully active temple with fully active worshipping monks. Fascinating and full of chinese atmosphere. I found it hard to grumble at the 5 am gong we were treated to! You simply don't get that sort of wake-up on a normal day!

Breakfast was sumptious- so much choice that it was hard to decide-plenty of bacon/eggs etc, also lots of chinese. Waitin gstaff were friendly and attentive.

Super koi pond at the rear of hotel and some very impressive terracotta warriors.

Lovely hotel. Would go back any time!

Room Tip: Aim for rear of hotel- it really is so lovely to see the monks pursuing their worship!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İzmir
Level Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Grand Nwe World Hotel was the best in my China Trip among 7 hotels.Why I liked best ?Maybe it is close to the center, best breakfast, good furnished rooms,English speaking personal, beautiful flowers everywhere ...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AYSESIBEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Had a meeting at this hotel last week. We lived on the 15th floor, the executive floor. Room rates was cheap , compared to other western chain hotel. Rooms are old fashioned, but spacious and clean. Breakfast was very average, but the chinese restaurant at second floor served delicious food!
This hotel is a little distant from the Drum tower, or the city center . It would take about 40minutes (slow walk) to get to the Drum tower district. But it has a lower room rate, so it is still full of western tourist (mostly group travelers). It is indeed located inside the city wall, and very close to the south gate. But location wise, it is not really the best choice.

Room Tip: there are some good restaurants across the street, authentic local food. (not the muslim section bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chang0687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location. You just walk around the corner and you are in the "Muslim Quarter". We went for a walk at night and saw all sorts of interesting foods being cooked. It felt very safe and nice to know we were very close to the hotel.
The stone carving just behind reception is amazing, but they could put up a sign or two so that people can see how to get to it. The bar staff were very friendly and helpful. They had cold local beer (an essential for Aussie travellers). And we drank these beside the fish pond and stone carving. Very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

grand entrance so impressive !!!! The rooms were very comfortable with choice of soft or firm pillows. The bathroom extras were up market. the tea and coffee makings were so limited 2 tea bags or creamers And when asked for more only 2 more arrived.Th breakfast was very good . the staff had limited English but were so keen to please

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosdavies10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were driven from the airport by a young driver with a minibus who agreed to drive next morning to the town centre for a few hours sightseeing,then on to see the terracotta army and finally to the airport.Five of us for £70.00!
Our bedroom was comfortable and well furnished. The bed was not hard by Chinese standards.
Although I cannot swim, I went to the pool with my husband. A delightful young attendant gave me swimming advice and a charming young lady assisted me from the pool and into the changing room. (I am not disabled). We discovered that there is a theatre attached to the hotel which had a show that evening of music and dance. We also bought tickets for the "dumpling Feast" ,not expecting it to be very good as some of us are a bit wary of chinese food. How wrong we were! It was a fabulous assortment of meat and vegetable fillings.
We rounded off the evening with a cocktail in the bar, while my son had a foot massage.
The buffet breakfast was excellent and only cost about £5.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
2.1 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
1.8 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#12 of 2,532 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.3 mi away
Xian Titan Times Hotel
Xian Titan Times Hotel
#15 of 2,532 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gudu Wenhua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gudu Wenhua Hotel

Property: Gudu Wenhua Hotel
Address: No.172 Lianhu Road, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#16 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gudu Wenhua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Gudu Wenhua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand New World
Grand New World Hotel Xian
Grand New World Xi An
Gudu Wenhua Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing