We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Wild Goose Pagoda (Dayanta)
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Big Wild Goose Pagoda (Dayanta)
from $39.00
More Info
from $38.00
More Info
from $36.00
More Info
from $129.00
More Info
Reviews (3,098)
Filter reviews
1,909 results
Traveler rating
636
865
361
37
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
636
865
361
37
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big wild goose pagoda fountain show surrounding buildings worth a visit light show interesting history tang dynasty walk around terracotta warriors monkeys china chanting scriptures site paintings earthquake stories
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,909 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

While in Xian we went by bus from our hotel to the City Wall & stopped at the Wild Goose Pagoda on the way to walk around the Pagoda which has stone lions guarding the entrance.

Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I went to light show under pagoda at night ,wasn't really impressed with it ,isn't a must see , crowded and difficult to get a good spot around the fountain due to crowds

Thank Flitz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a large Buddhist pagoda set in a large park setting. During our visit, mush of the park was closed off to visitors, so we just enjoyed the view of the pagoda. Best entrance is from the South.

Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

So the Pagoda is wonderful to see yet the area around is being improved developed. The work kind of took away from the experience.

Thank tj20travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I walked the grounds and entered the surrounding buildings, but did not pay extra to climb the pagoda. Very nice day when we were there, but we were tired and my feet were sore. One warning....taxis in the neighborhood near the pagoda did not stop for us, even when they had no passengers. It was strange. Must walk about 10-15 minutes to nearest subway station.

Thank RockiesResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Big Wild Goose Pagoda during our night tour of Xi’an. It was beautiful.

We watched the people dancing in the city square adjacent, and it was a real spectacle.

If you have an evening in Xi’an, this is definitely a spot to visit.

Thank StephenGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dayanta is easily accessed via the metro and only takes around 20min from the city wall.
The grounds are lovely with water fountains out the front and lovely gardens inside. It costs 40yuan to get inside the main gate and i think it was another 30-40yuan to go inside the actual pagoda (be aware if you want to climb to the top that it is 7 stories and about 21 flights of stairs that get steeper towards the top). Great views of the surrounding area from each direction at the top.
The pagoda closed at 6.30pm the day I was there and it was lit up beautifully at night.
There are some good cheap stalls with souvenirs outside the pagoda (side farthest from the metro).

Thank sarahu1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pagoda, shrines to Buddha and prayers of the faithful all combine to provide the visitor with more insight into the Chinese culture.

Thank kwaaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Another bit of interesting history - an ancient pagoda set in the middle of a nice park.

There's a danger on a tour like this, of becoming saturated by all the history, but - as always - a good guide makes places come to life.

the park was good to walk around and we enjoyed seeing locals practicing their Tai Chi, exercising in the outdoor gym and just relaxing in the sunshine. A bit of real local life

Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It’s a nice place and a volunteer local guide provides good insight to the history. Xi’an has so much to see and enjoy, that I wouldn’t spend more than an hour here.

Thank sunnyalberta27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews