We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to see...”
Review of Huaqing Palace

Huaqing Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Huaqing Palace and Hot Springs
More Info
$82.99*
and up
Private Day Tour of Terracotta Warriors and Huaqing Hot Spring
More Info
$134.66*
and up
Small-Group Tour to the Terracotta Warriors and Hot Springs Spa from Xi’an
Ranked #16 of 336 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Huaqing Palace, also known as the Huaqing Hot spring or Huaqing Pool, is located in Lintong District, Xi'an city. It takes only 10 minutes from terra cotta warriors to huaqing palace by tourism bus 306. Huaqing Palace is an ancient Chinese resort palace with a history of 3000 years, it is celebrated for its ratural hot spring. Now travelers can not only visit the museum of imperial hot spring pool, the historical site of Xi'an Incident but also can climb Moutain Li. Huaqing Palace is a palace where you can have a excellent cultrual expreince of Tang Dynasty. Suggestion: We recommend you to access the offical website and homepage on Facebook, then you can make a better plan to visit Huaqing Palace!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Not much to see...”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The old pools are worst the visit but except that there is not much to see.
Most of it has been rebuilt recently and lost all the aspect from the past.
Avoid the bath offer, the tube are disgusting, toilet are awful, well it is so dirty that you must see that once in your life...

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank ride_and_dive_1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    217
    139
    26
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you like history, romance and beauty visit here, see the night show!”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I visited the terracotta warriors like everyone else, and the Huaqing hot pools was included as part of our tour. I didn't know anything about it, but was quite enchanted by it's history and love story of the king and his concubine. Only discovered in the 80's it has been restored with beautiful chinese gardens and pools of golden fish. Some say it is cheesy and commercial but I didn't get that feeling from it.

I totally reccommended seeing the night show! Cost about 200RMB but one of the best performances I seen (and I've seen NYC Broadway and Las Vegas shows) Song of Sorrows, or Everlasting Regret, a love story of the Emperor and his lover. The use of the lake as a stage plus the mountain lit up in the background, sets a stunning visual backdrop. The music and sound combined with the beautiful lighting, exquisite traditional costumes, sensual dancing, even olfactory effects!
They released fragrant perfume into the audience for the scene of batheing..I was impressed.
Few foreigners see this show, I was one out of 500 people. So the show is in Chinese however I think the language of dance and musical is universal, so it doesn't take away from the overall experience.
Hope this inspires others to visit this beautiful place.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank cornishgal02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Nothing special about it.”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We went there and like every temple in China there were lots and lots of vendor selling souvinier. Most of the concubine bathing place is without water. What we saw was an empty pool.

If you must visit this place, I recommend going on the later half of the day where it will almost be empty.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jonnhyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING Pretty location packed with historical incidents”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

A really beautiful, peaceful and historic site which you MUST visit when in Xi'an. It was built for the Emperor's favourite concubine with lots of outbuildings with such pretty roofs. It could almost be what Westerners would call 'Disney China' it's just so pretty. The lake is covered with lotus flowers. The backdrop is a huge mountain with a cable car to the top. The hot springs are behind the large statue of the Concubine on the wall - not always easy to find. Walk up to the area where Chiang Kai-shek was captured and see evidence of the shoot out that occured. There are some beautiful pavillions in this area. Definately worth a visit.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Tappy Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Lovingly restored to its glory days, but rather artificial”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

When one visits the terra cotta warriors museum, on the return route, one usually will visit this place as well. It was where the famous queen of Tang dynasty Yang Yu Huang took her winter bath, and spent many lovely days with the King. Nowadays this place has been fully restored to resemble its glory days some 100 years ago. The layout of the garden is lovely beyond doubt. However, they now introduce too much modern technology, by staging a musicals (from April to Oct, tickets are expensive) every night called "Song of eternal sorrow", they had to install electric-operated stage, light racks and all that, hidden away in the day time, ready to be used at night by the press of a button! Although mostly hidden, some of this can still be seen in day time, which is very distracting and take away the ancient beauty of the garden and lake. The idea of the musicals is lovely, but not without causing some distortions to the original environment. All in all, it is still a lovely place and should pay a visit, but I suggest one shouldn't expect too much.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank la_speranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huaqing Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing