We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses
from $33.00
More Info
from $35.88
More Info
from $24.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
Reviews (14,509)
Filter reviews
14,509 results
Traveler rating
10,890
2,721
714
127
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
10,890
2,721
714
127
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bucket list mind blowing terra cotta warriors life size public bus awe inspiring amazing site sheer size terracotta army ticket office take your time private guide railway station visiting china chinese history pit thousands
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5,699 - 5,704 of 14,509 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2015

We very nearly missed our visit here due to the PM of India visiting on the same day as our visit, initially they were going to close it for the day, but somehow changed their minds and opened for the afternoon. Definitely the Hi-light of our whole China tour. Absolutely amazing to thing it's over 2000 years old.....the scale of it, the detail, the technology to make them. I do hope in the future they find some way of preserving any coloured figures they find because that will make it even more impressive! We even met the farmer who discovered it, shook his hand and had our photo taken with him!

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2015

This is one of the two reasons why I visited china and I wasn't disappointed. On arrival there is a bit of a walk to get to the main buildings. On route you will be approached by people offering to sell you souvenir terra-cotta warriors We were warned by our guide not to buy from these people as often they will rip you off. There is a market in the same area where you can safely buy souvenirs. You will be expected to barter. Prices quoted for anything will be inflated to at least double so don't be afraid to offer a lot less. Its fun but don't get involved unless you want to buy because they are very persistent once you show an interest. There are three large buildings containing the warriors and other artefacts plus a museum. As with anywhere you go in China there are a lot of people around but I had no difficulty seeing everything and taking photos. Take plenty of water with you and take your time. My partner is not into history like me, but she found it stunning and interesting.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2015

We purchased a 1/2 size warrior at the terracota warrior shop in April 2015 in Xian. It finally arrives in July 2015 but now we are informed that we have about another $750 to pay in customs clearance, duty costs. That is crazy.

We knew we would have duty and sales tax to pay but there is also the freight company charges.

We are not happy. It had better be in one piece.

Date of experience: April 2015
3  Thank joanneauckram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2015

Our tour of he museum complex led by Linda with China Odyssey was so much fun and so educational. Our entire time in Xi'an was made pleasant by Linda's expert stewardship of our time and resources. We greatly enjoyed this portion of our China visit.

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2015

The massiveness of the site, the enormous number of warriors, the antiquity, the amount of people viewing it, all adds to the general feeling of awe at this truly splendid piece of history.
Built in the 2nd Century AD by over 700,000 people, many of whom were buried along with the concubines when the Qin emperor died. The most astonishing aspect is that the entire mausoleum lay beneath the earth undiscovered until 1974 when a farmer was digging a well. Of the 8000 warriors that are estimated to be in the 3 pits only about 2000 have been excavated so far.
The first pit is vast and has the most warriors on display and also a workshop area at the back where you can see them reassembling the pieces of the warriors.
The second pit is more of a museum with individual warriors in glass cases with good descriptions about them. There are also cases of the weapons, bridles etc which are still preserved as they knew how to chromium plate metal back in the 2nd Century!
The third pit is much smaller with a reproduction & the actual royal carriages but it was so packed that it was difficult to see anything!
A truly marvelous experience.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank Bella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews