We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A must see attraction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses

The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses
Book In Advance
$47.00*
and up
Self-Guided Private Day Tour: Tickets For The Terracotta Warriors With...
Ranked #1 of 334 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: One of the most significant archaeological finds in the world, this 16,300-square-meter excavation reveals more than 7,000 life-size terracotta figures of warriors and horses arranged in battle formations.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A must see attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had organised a trip to Xian just to view the terracotta warriors. It was fantastic to see the scale and splendour of this attraction. Equally impressive was how their engineers managed to construct 4 buildings over the archeological pits and still not harm these ancient artifacts. In fact I feel that these building not only provide comfort for tourists but also for researchers (archeological work is still in progress) , and protect the artifacts from the elements.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Weng Koon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,985
    1,954
    500
    76
    29
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
202 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE VERY BEST UNIQUE ATTRACTIONS TO SEE IN CHINA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This attraction is spectacular. I'm wearing a Xian Warriors T shirt right now as I write this review.

The Chinese people were very smart when they first found this colossal collection of Chinese warriors and horses buried under the earth. To protect all of the pieces they constructed a huge domed enclosure over top of the find. It is several football fields in length which gives you an idea of just how huge the site really is.

It 's educational for children and adults. You'll never see anything else in the World quite like it. The Emperor had his people design thousands of these terracotta soldiers and bury them underground to protect him in the afterlife. One interesting fact is that none of the soldiers has the same looking face. Every head was made separate and placed atop of the terracotta soldiers. All of the faces have different expressions and facial appearances.

This museum site is very well planned out. In some areas they have left the broken pieces of the warriors just as they had been found. They are in many pieces.

In other areas you can see hundreds of warriors standing in rows and they are all full lifelike size figures.

The warriors used to be more colourful but after they are dug up the oxygen and air changes their colours to a more pale clay like quality.

You also get to see the differences in the rank of the soldiers. There are generals who have a certain look and dress while other ranks look different. The horses are very well done and lifelike. They even have some chariots that the hoses could pull.

There is a wonderful tea house on the premises. They sell beverages, some food items, and some interesting gift items. They have washroom facilities, an outdoor viewing pool and beautiful flowers to look at in Season.

This is a great exhibit to see on a rainy day as it is all enclosed. Even better on a sunny day as the grounds look pretty.

This is a spectacular display that you will not soon forget!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dream come true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I have wanted to see the real soldiers since I first heard about their discovery in the 70s. Each site is covered and protected by a building and they are awesome. When you enter the 1st site building it is like stepping back into time. Hundreds of soldiers and horses in the pits.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deborah Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
433 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“It's the whole reason to visit Xian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had visited the Museum in 2000 when it was still located in the middle of nowhere. Now the city has grown and changed so much that getting to the warriors was not an adventure.

Everything was so changed and modern that we felt the impact of seeing the Warriors had diminished. You park in a big fancy parking lot and are taken to the entrance in golf carts. The intro movie which explained everything is no longer and you are simply thrust into a modern amphitheater looking down on the warriors. The two other buildings have warriors in glass cases, and while is educational and beautiful, it did not have the WOW factor.

I understand that the world has discovered China and that things change, however I am grateful to have visited 14 years ago when I felt a personal connection to the warriors.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskaMomofTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Remarkable piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is one place that was on my bucket list! So happy that I was able to go there and check it off. It was absolutely remarkable - entering Pit 1 and standing there trying to take in the vastness of this amazing discovery - I couldn't help but have tears run down my face.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank watergirl341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing