We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Dream come true” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses

The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.00*
and up
Self-Guided Private Day Tour: Tickets For The Terracotta Warriors With...
Ranked #1 of 333 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: One of the most significant archaeological finds in the world, this 16,300-square-meter excavation reveals more than 7,000 life-size terracotta figures of warriors and horses arranged in battle formations.
Denham Springs, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Dream come true”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I have wanted to see the real soldiers since I first heard about their discovery in the 70s. Each site is covered and protected by a building and they are awesome. When you enter the 1st site building it is like stepping back into time. Hundreds of soldiers and horses in the pits.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deborah Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,701
    2,083
    541
    88
    34
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
432 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“It's the whole reason to visit Xian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had visited the Museum in 2000 when it was still located in the middle of nowhere. Now the city has grown and changed so much that getting to the warriors was not an adventure.

Everything was so changed and modern that we felt the impact of seeing the Warriors had diminished. You park in a big fancy parking lot and are taken to the entrance in golf carts. The intro movie which explained everything is no longer and you are simply thrust into a modern amphitheater looking down on the warriors. The two other buildings have warriors in glass cases, and while is educational and beautiful, it did not have the WOW factor.

I understand that the world has discovered China and that things change, however I am grateful to have visited 14 years ago when I felt a personal connection to the warriors.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskaMomofTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Remarkable piece of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is one place that was on my bucket list! So happy that I was able to go there and check it off. It was absolutely remarkable - entering Pit 1 and standing there trying to take in the vastness of this amazing discovery - I couldn't help but have tears run down my face.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank watergirl341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zelenograd, Russia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Really interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

It's not just some place from must-see list, it really has an atmosphere.
Terracotta Warriors all has different faces, so you can walk and look at them for hours and it still will be interesting. There are many visitors inside, but the exhibition is well-organised.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank laaaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing, and quiet out of season”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from Xian and the Terrracotta Army was, of course, on the 'to do' list.
I know something of the background and history of the site, so was not expecting to get in amongst the army itself. The viewing area is raised above the army itself but does give you and idea of the scale of the site.
Much of the area remains unexcavated, but given the colour vanishes from the statues within 3 hours of exposure I admire the decision not to excavate everything available until sufficient research has been completed to allow future statues to be retained in all their glory.
The site shows the pieces the warriors were originally found in and shows the considerable work gone into piecing together those discovered so far. The ongoing work being undertaken in the area our guide called the 'hospital' is fascinating.
We had a private guide for the trip and she was amazing providing all the history and background needed.
Pit 1 is by far the largest and more excavated than the others, indeed pit 2 is very much a work in progress.
If you expect to walk around the warriors themselves think again. No-one in their right mind should anticipate doing this when the items are so delicate and so historically important.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable couple of hours here and being out of season had no trouble with queues of crowds which I can imagine would be horrific a few weeks later.
Expect a 15 minute walk from the car park and expect to be barged by Chinese visitors and you'll not be disappointed.
Definitely worth a visit if you know what to expect. I loved it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kaz831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing