We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.00*
and up
Self-Guided Private Day Tour: Tickets For The Terracotta Warriors With...
Ranked #1 of 332 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: One of the most significant archaeological finds in the world, this 16,300-square-meter excavation reveals more than 7,000 life-size terracotta figures of warriors and horses arranged in battle formations.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Terra-cotta Warriors museum is truly an impressive sight. While there are audio tours and tour guides available, I would strongly recommend doing some reading and background on the site before you visit. I did some light reading online beforehand and watched a documentary that was available online. Doing so gave me a greater appreciation of what I saw when I visited.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,978
    2,136
    555
    90
    35
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
152 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Traveling to China? Check Xi'an on your list!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We traveled to Xi'an during the winter holiday mainly to see this amazing wonder, and it was so amazing.

First, we took the subway to Banpo station (半坡) on Line 1 that was exactly one stop before the terminus station Fangzhicheng (纺织城), took off the exit B and got on the bus 307, which was directly heading to the Terra Cotta Warriors (Bingmayong 兵马俑) in around 1.5 hours and cost 6 RMB each.

Upon arrival we bought the ticket for 60 RMB each, the price for being a student in China, and decided to took the car to the site for 10 RMB each, which I regretted since it was not far and probably will only take 10-15 minutes on foot. We ended up hiring an official guide who spoke good English for 100 RMB (no matter how many you are the price is the same, we were 5 people so 20 RMB each person).

Apparently there are lots of terra cotta sites but only few were already excavated and only 3 were open for public. So the sites were all indoor but you need to go to different buildings to go to another site. Firstly we went to the museum to learn about the history, and quite surprised to see Indonesian placate inside the museum during Soeharto's reign. Then we went to Site A, the biggest site holding lots of vanguard infantries (the most favourite photograph site), and then to Site B that was not fully excavated so the full bodies of the warriors and the horses couldn't be seen. It is supposed to be the place for the higher ranking officials such as cavalries accompanied with archers. Then we went to Site C, which was the headquarters. It is a small site consisting of the highest ranking officials and the (missing) emperor himself. Finally we went to the souvenir shop to meet the lucky old farmer who found out this site when he was younger. They sell the farmer's book and he could sign it if he's there, so literature or history enthusiasts might consider buying the book.

Overall, it was an amazing experience. Compared to Beijing and Shanghai that are so mainstream, Xi'an and its Terra Cotta Warriors has its own beauty.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Abraham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

The museum is fairly organised. We rented an audio guide although there were a lot of tour guides offering their services at the main entrance.
It turned out that the audio guide can only be played once. No repeat function. And the signs at the exhibits showing the track number are not clear enough. Although this allows us more free time to walk around, the tour was lacking in more timely background stories which could possibly offered by walking tour guides.
If I could visit again, I would start with the cinema, then exhibition hall, followed by pit 2,3 and lastly pit 1 which is the climax. Cinema and the exhibition hall are at two extreme corners.
Food at the restaurants outside the entrance is very pricey.
Nonetheless, the exhibits themselves are amazing. It's a world heritage site. Just have to visit it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Speckypilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
156 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“One more think off the Bucket List and it was GREAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

What can I say that has not been said before? This is one of the things we went to China to See and it was GREAT. It was worth putting up with the Xian smog to see this.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EasyDoesIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
339 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Breathtaking trip back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Its massive and worth the visit. Talk about going back in time - you can smell the clay in the air.
Really worth the visit - but bring a guide or book with information of this amazing history.

We really enjoyed it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing