We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses
Book In Advance
$47.00*
and up
Self-Guided Private Day Tour: Tickets For The Terracotta Warriors With...
Ranked #1 of 333 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: One of the most significant archaeological finds in the world, this 16,300-square-meter excavation reveals more than 7,000 life-size terracotta figures of warriors and horses arranged in battle formations.
hong kong
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Its worth visiting all Pits, a guide is useful. Lunch upstairs in the only onsite restaurant is for foreigners, tasty and cheap.
A pity all visitors are required to leave through the market-like maze of stalls, it marrs the experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank coffeeglutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,643
    2,071
    534
    84
    34
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
338 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We got up early and took a taxi to Tang Palace South gate and used the local bus 307 at the stupidly cheap price of CNY8. We used the bus as the taxi including waiting should have been around CNY500 and we wanted the local experience. The bus took about 1.5h, guess longer if rush hour. We got on the bus at 8:20 and the traffic was OK.
Going back we took the bus 306 and that was much better, padded seats and not allowed to stand in the bus and actually cheaper at CNY7, much reccomended. That bus took us to the Xi'An railway station.

The entrance to the terracotta warriors is a bit expensive but certanly worth it.
We entered the site around 10-ish and it were pretty empty and had a good 3 hours exploring the three different pits.

Don't get fooled by the guy's holding Terracotty finguines under the coats inside the pits and sell them for CNY100 for the set, they are CNY10-15 (after hard barganing) outside the pits.

Bring a camera/lens that could take photo's in pretty dark enviroment, flash is not accepted everwhere.

Outside the pits there are some food stalls and we found one of our favorites there.

The ticket also allow you to go to Qin Shi Huang Mausoleum, we did go there for the afternoon and it is a nice park area there, the rest is not that interesting, we liked it but if time is short, skip it.

Outside of the terracotta warriors and the bus 306 there are some old ladies selling traditional Chinese handicraft at very good price.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Calle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Must-see for the Bucket List”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

There is nothing that compares to the scale of this Museum. Nor can you easily wrap your mind around what it took to make it - certainly one of the greatest artistic endeavors of all time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank drjajekyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“It's why you came to Xi'an”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great archaeological sight. Amazing history. If there are no audio tours available at the admission area, there probably will not be any available up top. You may wish to get an actual guide if this is the case, as it was for our visit. Our guidebook recommended seeing the solders in reverse order: Pit 3 then 2 then 1. This worked out great, saving the best for last.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sundinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So Much History!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

What you see in the photos, are really what you'll see. Nothing more. But the history that comes with it, that is what you need to experience. Seeing some of the warriors being restored, archeologists still digging up some areas, then imagine how many centuries it remained underneath the Earth. It is unbelievable!

Be careful with the restaurants outside as they sometimes charge a lot more than what is written on the menu. So make it clear about the price before you order anything. There are a lot of other places in Xi'an that sell the same items that they sell there but more than twice the price. You can head to Muslim street for just a fraction of the items that they are selling there.

The entrance fee has already increased to 120yuans.

I would suggest that you allot a full day for it to really appreciate it and bask in it's rich history.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank OuterScene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing