We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“vast complex - emperor's tomb is miles away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses

The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses
Book In Advance
$89*
and up
Half-Day Private Tour of Terra Cotta Warriors and Horses Museum
Ranked #1 of 333 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: One of the most significant archaeological finds in the world, this 16,300-square-meter excavation reveals more than 7,000 life-size terracotta figures of warriors and horses arranged in battle formations.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“vast complex - emperor's tomb is miles away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

welcome to this vast complex of replicas of emperor's soldiers and chariots. the craftsmanship of old is really remarkable. And this is not even near the emperor's tomb. what will they unearth next?

However, visiting this site once is enough for me. Probably my children can return in future to see the emperor's tomb.

This visit was part of our Xian city day tour from Beijing. It is very convenient to buy an overnight train sleeping berth ticket from Beijing to Xian; pre-engaged a travel guide for the day who will bring you back to the train station in the evening. We also visited the Muslim quarters - lots of shopping and foodstuff available.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank francis_61jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,631
    1,869
    476
    71
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Do it in the winter.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a magnificent site, perhaps the most interesting in China. We went in December and had the place virtually to ourselves. It's cold inside the museum, so dress warmly and wear comfortable shoes. If you read a little online before going you won't need a guide. I arranged for a car and driver from the Sofitel which insured a smooth coming and going, 600 RMB for the trip. You'll be very sorry if you try to visit this museum in peak season, it will be a madhouse, and you'll be bumped and jostled and not see much. We were able to linger, move at our own pace, and just really enjoy everything.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Dream come true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our visit to the terra-cotta warriors was a dream come true. I have never experienced history this close before. The visit is a must if you are visiting china. Xian is a 2-3 hours plane ride from Shnaghai or Beijing. Xian is a quaint friendly city in the middle of china mainland wrapped by the fortress walls. The warrior site is about an hour or so away. Its all covered to not to worry about weather. You can take pictures but no flash. We also met the farmer who accidentally dug the site and he signs the cards or books if you want. Take an english speaking guide and you are golden as you will know the rich history of the place.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DrVAhluwalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Extraordinary monument to one man's folly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is one of the most awe-inspiring sites you could ever see. We travelled in November which was cold but the museum was spectacular with a walkway around an impressive array of excavated warriors & horses. We had a local guide (a great idea) who gave us background then left us to wander around the 4 pits (one is empty). There is a surround cinema with reconstructions of the manufacture of the warriors. We also went to a factory where we were shown how the warriors were made (supposedly the only authentic factory). There were lots of pottery models to buy plus an enormous array of beautiful furniture. The warriors were a monument to one man - China's first emperor. Hundreds of thousands died during construction over 37 years & I think he bankrupted the country in that time so there was a rebellion after he died. There is a great story after he died involving fish - check it out. You can purchase a book concerning the warriors signed by the man who found them in 1974.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank JayDeeBee1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Until you actually walk into the giant sheds(?) you can't begin to describe the enormousness of this site. To see and walk around this site is amazing. There were excavations taking place while we were wandering around. The whole area has been very well set up for the tourist trade with all 3 of the pits under cover and protecting this discovery.Is is a must see for any one even slightly interested in hitory. We purchased a book and had it signed by one of the brothers who while digging a well discovered this site.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumpkin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing