We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do it in the winter.”

The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Tour of Xi'an Terracotta Warriors
More Info
$58.50*
and up
Xi'an One Day Bus Tour of Terracotta Army
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Half-Day Private Tour of Terra Cotta Warriors and Horses Museum
Ranked #1 of 335 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of the most significant archaeological finds in the world, this 16,300-square-meter excavation reveals more than 7,000 life-size terracotta figures of warriors and horses arranged in battle formations.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Do it in the winter.”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a magnificent site, perhaps the most interesting in China. We went in December and had the place virtually to ourselves. It's cold inside the museum, so dress warmly and wear comfortable shoes. If you read a little online before going you won't need a guide. I arranged for a car and driver from the Sofitel which insured a smooth coming and going, 600 RMB for the trip. You'll be very sorry if you try to visit this museum in peak season, it will be a madhouse, and you'll be bumped and jostled and not see much. We were able to linger, move at our own pace, and just really enjoy everything.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,426
    2,206
    578
    91
    39
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Dream come true”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our visit to the terra-cotta warriors was a dream come true. I have never experienced history this close before. The visit is a must if you are visiting china. Xian is a 2-3 hours plane ride from Shnaghai or Beijing. Xian is a quaint friendly city in the middle of china mainland wrapped by the fortress walls. The warrior site is about an hour or so away. Its all covered to not to worry about weather. You can take pictures but no flash. We also met the farmer who accidentally dug the site and he signs the cards or books if you want. Take an english speaking guide and you are golden as you will know the rich history of the place.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DrVAhluwalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Extraordinary monument to one man's folly”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is one of the most awe-inspiring sites you could ever see. We travelled in November which was cold but the museum was spectacular with a walkway around an impressive array of excavated warriors & horses. We had a local guide (a great idea) who gave us background then left us to wander around the 4 pits (one is empty). There is a surround cinema with reconstructions of the manufacture of the warriors. We also went to a factory where we were shown how the warriors were made (supposedly the only authentic factory). There were lots of pottery models to buy plus an enormous array of beautiful furniture. The warriors were a monument to one man - China's first emperor. Hundreds of thousands died during construction over 37 years & I think he bankrupted the country in that time so there was a rebellion after he died. There is a great story after he died involving fish - check it out. You can purchase a book concerning the warriors signed by the man who found them in 1974.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank JayDeeBee1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Until you actually walk into the giant sheds(?) you can't begin to describe the enormousness of this site. To see and walk around this site is amazing. There were excavations taking place while we were wandering around. The whole area has been very well set up for the tourist trade with all 3 of the pits under cover and protecting this discovery.Is is a must see for any one even slightly interested in hitory. We purchased a book and had it signed by one of the brothers who while digging a well discovered this site.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumpkin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Finally some ancient chinese sights in a country tbat seems to have destroyed most of its past!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

A visit to china can be very dissapointing for someone who expects to see one of the world's oldest civilizations. Most cities like guangzhou, shanghai, shenzen, etc have almost no historical sights to see. Xian is the one exception. The terracotta warriors are incredible - a real insight into ancient china. The sight of hundreds of lifelike warriors ready for battle is awe inspiring. If there is one place you visit in china, make it xian. And also cover the mausolem of emperor quin which is nearby. Together, it will be the best day you will spend in china.

Helpful?
1 Thank pheru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing