We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fascinating - avoid crowds and go in November.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses

The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses
Book In Advance
$47.00*
and up
Self-Guided Private Day Tour: Tickets For The Terracotta Warriors With...
Ranked #1 of 337 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: One of the most significant archaeological finds in the world, this 16,300-square-meter excavation reveals more than 7,000 life-size terracotta figures of warriors and horses arranged in battle formations.
Zhuhai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fascinating - avoid crowds and go in November.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent 2 nights in Xi'an to see the warriors. Fantastic experience. If you hate crowds visit in November as we found it very quiet in China terms. There were no other westerners and no big tour groups. We hired a private car with driver and guide which was easy and reasonably priced. That way you learn a great deal about the history of the city on the 1 hour trip there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Australiansinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,518
    2,047
    523
    81
    34
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Have a guide otherwise it is VERY boring”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Be prepared to wait for one hour just to get a glimpse of men made of clay. If you are not into history or acient china than go to Mc Donalds instead. If you decide to go anyway than get a guide becuase there are a lot of other things.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank primcircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“just like you dreamt it would be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

my only complaint is that i couldn't get closer to the statues. I wish that there were at least one or two sculptures that you could look at up close without the glass, etc. Anyway, some VIPs were getting a tour while we were there and they were able to walk right out to the sculptures in pit one. Advice is to take public bus from downtown or hire a car and driver to save time by being taken to the tourist traps.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BagsRpacked705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Worth while experience , it was amazing how detailed and big the figures were. After buying the ticket to enter the site , they charge you for taking the train to the site which I think was a bit much.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Much ado about something”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

The sheer size and immensity of the terra cotta warrior display is difficult to fathom. Football field sized excavations show these preserved warriors in multiple display pavilions, requires a bit of walking. There are plenty of english speaking narrators available to hire, would be worthwhile to have one to go with you, to help understand the details of this wonder better.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Flyer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing