We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much ado about something” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses

The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses
Book In Advance
$89*
and up
Half-Day Private Tour of Terra Cotta Warriors and Horses Museum
Ranked #1 of 333 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: One of the most significant archaeological finds in the world, this 16,300-square-meter excavation reveals more than 7,000 life-size terracotta figures of warriors and horses arranged in battle formations.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Much ado about something”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The sheer size and immensity of the terra cotta warrior display is difficult to fathom. Football field sized excavations show these preserved warriors in multiple display pavilions, requires a bit of walking. There are plenty of english speaking narrators available to hire, would be worthwhile to have one to go with you, to help understand the details of this wonder better.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Flyer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,646
    1,874
    478
    71
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Xi'an is filled with ancient history and buried treasures waiting to be excavated.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Truly amazing just observing the artifacts and details on the terracotta warriors. Having a guide is definitely useful. We have a nice english speaking guide, Linda Guo. There are magnificent ancient artifacts, wall carvings and good food to enjoy.

http://www.xian-travel.com/tour-guide/linda.html

Helpful?
Thank MLee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terra-cotta warriors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Super place, well laid out, and jaw dropping in terms of the scale, and details that were executed. Lunch at the restaurant there was pretty cool, they had people making noodles at the counter, from scratch. Museum was pretty cool too. Be prepared to wall a lot!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Venkat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Something for the bucket list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Terracotta Warriors were well worth the trip.

We organised a private car out to the site and on the way, our driver stopped in at a factory floor making the retail versions of the warriors and it was really interesting. We then went on to the real thing - and it was just amazing. The sheer size of the pits they have there are ridiculous. One piece of advice is - they sell these little warriors in a pack for 5 RMB after you get out of the Terracotta Warriors (the smaller ones) so hold out for a cheaper price if you are a bargain hunter.

There were no lines and no crowds of note. I would suggest paying a little extra for a private driver as it took all of the long winded speeches out of the equation, and meant we could make the trip at our own pace.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TianaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Immpressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Even though I'd seen a few of the Terracotta Warriors exhibited in Dublin, I wasn't prepared for the stunning dramatic impression that seeing the multitude of amazing sculptures in situ gave me! It took my breath away! After my first initial response, I started looking more closely at the individual figures and as far as I could see, each head was a portrait bust of a particular individual with differing racial features and bone structure. We heard that the uniformed torsos were mass produced and that the heads were added, so I wonder whether each of those thousands of soldiers sat for their portraits! There was a moving little ceremony with one of the farmers, who had first dug up the terracotta shards, signing our guide books.
One visit is not enough, as the archaeologists are working to reveal an entire court orchestra and haven't even begun to research the Emperor's mausoleum!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank hstanhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing