We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not horrible, but I wouldn't go rushing back!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Xi'an Motel
Ranked #181 of 2,353 Hotels in Xi'an
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
289 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Not horrible, but I wouldn't go rushing back!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This hotel qualified for by basic benchmarks, but only barely. It was fairly clean (although some in our group reported mold on walls), it was in a safe neighborhood, and by Chinese hotel standards, the bed was comfortable. If I were to go back to Xi'an, I would spend the extra money and stay somewhere else. One (or more) of the other posters nailed it succinctly - it is in dire need of renovation. Additionally, a lot of the amenities need to be improved. We were warned by hotel staff to avoid using "the middle elevator" as it frequently gets stuck and the Internet access was sporadic. Bottom line, the stay wasn't horrible, but my measuring stick is "would I return?" and I have to say that unless the Xi'an Hotel does a renovation, the answer is no.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WineTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    153
    76
    19
    11
See reviews for
15
7
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend, it was bearable but average. Beds very hard, bathrooms quite small and not very clean. Room faced onto main street and window locks broken so they could not be closed, very noisy at night. Fortunately we live in china so can speak a bit of Chinese but the adage foreigner would struggle here.
Chinese love his hotel as it has rich history, allegedly many previous Chinese Presidents have stayed there....I doubt they would any more.
For the price and for the weekend, not bad.....but if you want luxury and comfort, look elsewhere. We paid 1500RMB for 2 nights, 2 adults 2 kids which was less than half most of the western hotels (holiday inn, Hilton etc etc)

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank aufreqtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We arrived there on Mon 4/9 and the lobby was beautiful! Then we went up to our hotel room and there was a hotel room that hadn't been touched since the 70's. Cracked tiles in bathroom, stained, faded carpet, ROCK HARD mattress,the non existent toilet paper holder and frayed, split wiring to lamps. However, it was late and we're troopers so we put on our games faces and went to sleep. The next day we went down to breakfast and they told us our travel agent had signed us up for the Chinese breakfast. We looked at it and honestly there was nothing that we wanted to eat so we went back to the front desk and asked to change to the Western breakfast buffet. The trainee said yes, however, to be sure we asked the other girl, she looked at our paperwork and said yes also and the manager came over and also said we could. We offered to pay and they said no to just go ahead and go.

We went to the breakfast buffet and told the woman at the door that management said we could eat here instead of at the Chinese breakfast and she let us through. We went through and while they had food it was ALL cold, there were no warmers under the buffet servers. While we were in the buffet line someone came up and said we needed to go eat at the Chinese breakfast and we explained again that we didn't want to eat that but wanted to eat the Western breakfast and that the front desk staff and management had approved it. We sat down to eat and someone came up and told us that the Chinese breakfast cost so much yuan and the Western breakfast cost blank yuan, which was more. At this point, my husband said to forget it and keep the food and we left. We went up to the front desk and he tried to talk to the manager about the food and the room but there was no one available that spoke English. We had them call our tour guide who came over and we checked out of the hotel. The hotel is allegedly a 4 star hotel as the tour guide's boss told my husband is noted above their front door. But as my husband humorously told them- he can take 4 stars and stick it above our toilet and that doesn't make it 4 stars!!!

Seriously though, this hotel sucked, definitely the worst I have ever stayed at and I had misgivings when I looked the night before we were to arrive and saw the reviews but decided to keep an open mind. We walked in and saw the lobby and I thought WOW- they're wrong this is a beautiful hotel! But it truly is all in the hotel and not in the rooms. The staff was rude and not helpful at all to us and I'm not one to complain a lot but DO NOT STAY HERE! We have stayed at Chinese hotels but this bed was worse than sleeping on the floor and if it hadn't been so filthy we would have slept there honestly.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomfamily69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Xi'an hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

No hot water, stains on floor and in shower, the employees don't speak English, they won't change your money, it smells like smoke, the breakfast sucks, beds are like solid rocks, the light in the rooms is very dim, few wall outlets, etc.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peepee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The hotel we were meant to stay in didn't have the booking and so we we stayed here. The hotel was filthy and the beds were unbearably uncomfortable. We were travelling in a group and were told there were no other rooms. On the second night water came pouring through the ceiling of the bathroom and they had no choice to find us another room. This one was much larger and a bit cleaner. Fortunately we were only in Xian for 2 nights.

Room Tip: As far as we heard there were no good rooms to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

only lobby is updated. A group of 30 stayed for one night. At check out time they wanted one of us to pay for missing hand towel about $3.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

A tour group of 35 of us from Cincinnati stayed here two nights. Worst room we had in China. Carpet is worn out and stained and the furniture is in terrible condition. Staians, spills and what looks like flooding mar the furnishings. In an attempt to disquise the stains the chairs were covered in lace tablecloth runners. Our bed was extremely hard (I know, it's the custom, but this one was the worst we had while in China). We had to request assistance to figure out how to turn on the lights in the room. Turns out there's a funky old style 'hi-fi' contraption with buttons for the lights. Shower/tub had stains and missing tile. This hotel simply has not had any money spent on it for upkeep. We had a window overlooking the street that would not completely close. No Wifi access. There is an indoor pool and recreation area...again, extremely dated. Breakfast buffet was very nice and plentiful with interesting variety. We ate dinner one night at the Mongolian Hot Pot style restaurant in the hotel. I did not find it worth the time and effort when you cook your own meat over a steaming pot. There are two towers of rooms in this hotel and I understand that the rooms in the North tower (twin beds) were much nicer than ours with 1 Queen bed.

Room Tip: Our room was #532. When we complained about the condition of our room we were offered others on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
1.3 mi away
Xi'an City Hotel
Xi'an City Hotel
#1,055 of 2,353 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Xi'an
Crowne Plaza Xi'an
#8 of 2,353 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#26 of 2,353 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#18 of 2,353 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xi'an Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an Motel

Property: Xi'an Motel
Address: NO. 58 Chang'an North Road, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#99 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xi'an Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 538
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Xi'an Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xian Hotel Xi An
Xi'An Motel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing