We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Xi'an Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Xi'an Motel
Ranked #703 of 2,649 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend, it was bearable but average. Beds very hard, bathrooms quite small and not very clean. Room faced onto main street and window locks broken so they could not be closed, very noisy at night. Fortunately we live in china so can speak a bit of Chinese but the adage foreigner would struggle here.
Chinese love his hotel as it has rich history, allegedly many previous Chinese Presidents have stayed there....I doubt they would any more.
For the price and for the weekend, not bad.....but if you want luxury and comfort, look elsewhere. We paid 1500RMB for 2 nights, 2 adults 2 kids which was less than half most of the western hotels (holiday inn, Hilton etc etc)

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank aufreqtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 303 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

We arrived there on Mon 4/9 and the lobby was beautiful! Then we went up to our hotel room and there was a hotel room that hadn't been touched since the 70's. Cracked tiles in bathroom, stained, faded carpet, ROCK HARD mattress,the non existent toilet paper holder and frayed, split wiring to lamps. However, it was late and we're troopers so we put on our games faces and went to sleep. The next day we went down to breakfast and they told us our travel agent had signed us up for the Chinese breakfast. We looked at it and honestly there was nothing that we wanted to eat so we went back to the front desk and asked to change to the Western breakfast buffet. The trainee said yes, however, to be sure we asked the other girl, she looked at our paperwork and said yes also and the manager came over and also said we could. We offered to pay and they said no to just go ahead and go.

We went to the breakfast buffet and told the woman at the door that management said we could eat here instead of at the Chinese breakfast and she let us through. We went through and while they had food it was ALL cold, there were no warmers under the buffet servers. While we were in the buffet line someone came up and said we needed to go eat at the Chinese breakfast and we explained again that we didn't want to eat that but wanted to eat the Western breakfast and that the front desk staff and management had approved it. We sat down to eat and someone came up and told us that the Chinese breakfast cost so much yuan and the Western breakfast cost blank yuan, which was more. At this point, my husband said to forget it and keep the food and we left. We went up to the front desk and he tried to talk to the manager about the food and the room but there was no one available that spoke English. We had them call our tour guide who came over and we checked out of the hotel. The hotel is allegedly a 4 star hotel as the tour guide's boss told my husband is noted above their front door. But as my husband humorously told them- he can take 4 stars and stick it above our toilet and that doesn't make it 4 stars!!!

Seriously though, this hotel sucked, definitely the worst I have ever stayed at and I had misgivings when I looked the night before we were to arrive and saw the reviews but decided to keep an open mind. We walked in and saw the lobby and I thought WOW- they're wrong this is a beautiful hotel! But it truly is all in the hotel and not in the rooms. The staff was rude and not helpful at all to us and I'm not one to complain a lot but DO NOT STAY HERE! We have stayed at Chinese hotels but this bed was worse than sleeping on the floor and if it hadn't been so filthy we would have slept there honestly.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomfamily69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

No hot water, stains on floor and in shower, the employees don't speak English, they won't change your money, it smells like smoke, the breakfast sucks, beds are like solid rocks, the light in the rooms is very dim, few wall outlets, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peepee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The hotel we were meant to stay in didn't have the booking and so we we stayed here. The hotel was filthy and the beds were unbearably uncomfortable. We were travelling in a group and were told there were no other rooms. On the second night water came pouring through the ceiling of the bathroom and they had no choice to find us another room. This one was much larger and a bit cleaner. Fortunately we were only in Xian for 2 nights.

Room Tip: As far as we heard there were no good rooms to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

only lobby is updated. A group of 30 stayed for one night. At check out time they wanted one of us to pay for missing hand towel about $3.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

A tour group of 35 of us from Cincinnati stayed here two nights. Worst room we had in China. Carpet is worn out and stained and the furniture is in terrible condition. Staians, spills and what looks like flooding mar the furnishings. In an attempt to disquise the stains the chairs were covered in lace tablecloth runners. Our bed was extremely hard (I know, it's the custom, but this one was the worst we had while in China). We had to request assistance to figure out how to turn on the lights in the room. Turns out there's a funky old style 'hi-fi' contraption with buttons for the lights. Shower/tub had stains and missing tile. This hotel simply has not had any money spent on it for upkeep. We had a window overlooking the street that would not completely close. No Wifi access. There is an indoor pool and recreation area...again, extremely dated. Breakfast buffet was very nice and plentiful with interesting variety. We ate dinner one night at the Mongolian Hot Pot style restaurant in the hotel. I did not find it worth the time and effort when you cook your own meat over a steaming pot. There are two towers of rooms in this hotel and I understand that the rooms in the North tower (twin beds) were much nicer than ours with 1 Queen bed.

Room Tip: Our room was #532. When we complained about the condition of our room we were offered others on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cincy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel is dated, and old...
My room was far from clean and stinking from cigarette smoke...
The furniture was old and broken the pillows dirty...
The breakfast was a buffet western food a little and chinese also
not the best....
It's locaction is at a mainroad, outside nothing to see only shops with
a lot of mobiles and other electric things..
If can skip this hotel and look a little further,,
The swimmingpool is inside at the back ,small and old.. there was also a
little massages/spa going on with some ladies there ??
Greetings A.P.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronin080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
2.5 mi away
Long Hai Hotel
Long Hai Hotel
#139 of 2,649 in Xi'an
77 reviews
2.6 mi away
Xian Titan Times Hotel
Xian Titan Times Hotel
#16 of 2,649 in Xi'an
558 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#38 of 2,649 in Xi'an
246 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chenggong International Hotel
1.5 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#61 of 2,649 in Xi'an
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xi'an Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an Motel

Address: No.58 Chang'an North Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710061, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $35 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Xi'an Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 538
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Xi'an Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xian Hotel Xi An
Xi'An Motel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing