We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible hotel. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Xi'an Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Xi'an Motel
Ranked #580 of 2,550 Hotels in Xi'an
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible hotel. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

No hot water, stains on floor and in shower, the employees don't speak English, they won't change your money, it smells like smoke, the breakfast sucks, beds are like solid rocks, the light in the rooms is very dim, few wall outlets, etc.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peepee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    152
    79
    19
    11
See reviews for
15
7
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The hotel we were meant to stay in didn't have the booking and so we we stayed here. The hotel was filthy and the beds were unbearably uncomfortable. We were travelling in a group and were told there were no other rooms. On the second night water came pouring through the ceiling of the bathroom and they had no choice to find us another room. This one was much larger and a bit cleaner. Fortunately we were only in Xian for 2 nights.

Room Tip: As far as we heard there were no good rooms to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Xi'an hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

only lobby is updated. A group of 30 stayed for one night. At check out time they wanted one of us to pay for missing hand towel about $3.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
136 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

A tour group of 35 of us from Cincinnati stayed here two nights. Worst room we had in China. Carpet is worn out and stained and the furniture is in terrible condition. Staians, spills and what looks like flooding mar the furnishings. In an attempt to disquise the stains the chairs were covered in lace tablecloth runners. Our bed was extremely hard (I know, it's the custom, but this one was the worst we had while in China). We had to request assistance to figure out how to turn on the lights in the room. Turns out there's a funky old style 'hi-fi' contraption with buttons for the lights. Shower/tub had stains and missing tile. This hotel simply has not had any money spent on it for upkeep. We had a window overlooking the street that would not completely close. No Wifi access. There is an indoor pool and recreation area...again, extremely dated. Breakfast buffet was very nice and plentiful with interesting variety. We ate dinner one night at the Mongolian Hot Pot style restaurant in the hotel. I did not find it worth the time and effort when you cook your own meat over a steaming pot. There are two towers of rooms in this hotel and I understand that the rooms in the North tower (twin beds) were much nicer than ours with 1 Queen bed.

Room Tip: Our room was #532. When we complained about the condition of our room we were offered others on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel is dated, and old...
My room was far from clean and stinking from cigarette smoke...
The furniture was old and broken the pillows dirty...
The breakfast was a buffet western food a little and chinese also
not the best....
It's locaction is at a mainroad, outside nothing to see only shops with
a lot of mobiles and other electric things..
If can skip this hotel and look a little further,,
The swimmingpool is inside at the back ,small and old.. there was also a
little massages/spa going on with some ladies there ??
Greetings A.P.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronin080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

They say that the hotel’s lobby is usually a pretty decent indicator of the caliber of hotel in which one would be staying. Based on the lobby of the Xi’an Hotel, one would expect a wonderful hotel experience. My stay was anything but wonderful.

I’ll give you the good, the bad, and the ugly. First, the good – hotel staff were friendly, the lobby is a nice and good meeting place, and the hotel is in a nice location. The bad – I don’t think I got more than a total 3 hours of sleep during my two night stay. The air conditioning is shut off from 11 PM to 7 AM. July in Xi’an is very hot and with no way to even open a window the room was miserably stuffy. The water barely trickles out of the shower. Now for the ugly – that water that trickles out of the shower was dingy brown and you can hear anything, I mean anything, that’s going on in the bathroom of the next room. Yuck! If you can afford it, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalemVA_Snorkeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel was selected for us by someone else, so we had no idea what to expect, and being with a group could not change our hotel. The rooms smelled, carpet was extremely old and dirty, the bathroom was small. When we arrived the toilet didn't work. Also, the mold in the bathroom was out of control. The water from the shower flooding the bathroom was such a normal occurance, it had rotted all of the moldings and door. We asked for an ironing board and it came, however it was old and leaned down approx. 5" from one end to the other. We had to iron everything on an angle! The legs were all bent up. The bed was as hard as a rock. After we showered we went down to eat breakfast. The upstairs Chinese breakfast is included in the room price, but did not look appealing, so we went to the American downstairs. We had to pay for that one, but once sitting down realized we had made a mistake, as the floors were very dirty and the food looked like it had been sitting for quite awhile. We went to order an egg to be cooked and the pan and cooking plate were very dirty. We decided to just have coffee, but when it came it was like charcoal and luke warm. We decided that we were not hungry and went up to the room to leave. Needing to use the restroom before we left we noticed a black bug on the floor. We called our neighbors over to see what they thought it was. They all thought it looked like a scorpion. We are campers and travelers, and have stayed in a variety of hotels, B&B's and camping areas and have never stayed in such a flithy place. I would never let anyone consider this hotel !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
2.2 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#45 of 2,550 in Xi'an
222 reviews
0.4 mi away
International Exhibition Hotel Xi'an
2.6 mi away
Xian Titan Times Hotel
Xian Titan Times Hotel
#16 of 2,550 in Xi'an
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
#36 of 2,550 in Xi'an
767 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
1.8 mi away
Canaan International Hotel
Canaan International Hotel
#891 of 2,550 in Xi'an
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xi'an Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an Motel

Property: Xi'an Motel
Address: No.58 Chang'an North Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#155 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xi'an Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 538
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Xi'an Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xian Hotel Xi An
Xi'An Motel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing