We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated hotel....”
Review of Xi'an Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Xi'an Motel
Ranked #557 of 2,692 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel is dated, and old...
My room was far from clean and stinking from cigarette smoke...
The furniture was old and broken the pillows dirty...
The breakfast was a buffet western food a little and chinese also
not the best....
It's locaction is at a mainroad, outside nothing to see only shops with
a lot of mobiles and other electric things..
If can skip this hotel and look a little further,,
The swimmingpool is inside at the back ,small and old.. there was also a
little massages/spa going on with some ladies there ??
Greetings A.P.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronin080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 304 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

They say that the hotel’s lobby is usually a pretty decent indicator of the caliber of hotel in which one would be staying. Based on the lobby of the Xi’an Hotel, one would expect a wonderful hotel experience. My stay was anything but wonderful.

I’ll give you the good, the bad, and the ugly. First, the good – hotel staff were friendly, the lobby is a nice and good meeting place, and the hotel is in a nice location. The bad – I don’t think I got more than a total 3 hours of sleep during my two night stay. The air conditioning is shut off from 11 PM to 7 AM. July in Xi’an is very hot and with no way to even open a window the room was miserably stuffy. The water barely trickles out of the shower. Now for the ugly – that water that trickles out of the shower was dingy brown and you can hear anything, I mean anything, that’s going on in the bathroom of the next room. Yuck! If you can afford it, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalemVA_Snorkeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel was selected for us by someone else, so we had no idea what to expect, and being with a group could not change our hotel. The rooms smelled, carpet was extremely old and dirty, the bathroom was small. When we arrived the toilet didn't work. Also, the mold in the bathroom was out of control. The water from the shower flooding the bathroom was such a normal occurance, it had rotted all of the moldings and door. We asked for an ironing board and it came, however it was old and leaned down approx. 5" from one end to the other. We had to iron everything on an angle! The legs were all bent up. The bed was as hard as a rock. After we showered we went down to eat breakfast. The upstairs Chinese breakfast is included in the room price, but did not look appealing, so we went to the American downstairs. We had to pay for that one, but once sitting down realized we had made a mistake, as the floors were very dirty and the food looked like it had been sitting for quite awhile. We went to order an egg to be cooked and the pan and cooking plate were very dirty. We decided to just have coffee, but when it came it was like charcoal and luke warm. We decided that we were not hungry and went up to the room to leave. Needing to use the restroom before we left we noticed a black bug on the floor. We called our neighbors over to see what they thought it was. They all thought it looked like a scorpion. We are campers and travelers, and have stayed in a variety of hotels, B&B's and camping areas and have never stayed in such a flithy place. I would never let anyone consider this hotel !

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Our host reserved rooms for us in this hotel as it was close to their office and we would not be required to commute for longer distances. A state of the art facility this hotel has many number of rooms of various categories, car parking facility ,pubs and bars, discos, children entertainment facility, gym, pool. The food quality is good and you get a vast arey of food delight at your dining table.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamran_kharbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

This hotel is trying to pretend to be something it isn't. Rooms are adequate. Bartar like hell at the stalls inside hotel. Food is dire

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank padington_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

This review is part of our tour of China which we booked and arranged through China Direct (www.chinadirect-travel.co.uk) and travelled during 12th to 26th October 2009. Part of the package was that we always had a tour guide and taxi at our disposal, were met at all our destinations, transported to hotels and also then picked up and taken to points of interests, railway stations and airports. Not knowing any Chinese, we found this service absolutely brilliant in a country where English is not widely used or conversation is extremely difficult in the majority of situations.
We stopped for 2 nights at the Xi’an Hotel, 58 North Section, Chang’an Road, Xi’an, arriving early evening. First impressions were that it appeared to be a reasonably good hotel and that for all intent and purpose looked good for its 4 star. However, in our view it let it’s self down badly on the state of its bathroom/shower-room. On entering the room there was an overbearing smell of damp, mould and drains. On closer inspection the seal around the shower cubical was totally rotten and covered in slime and mould, it no longer created a proper seal and allowed the water run out under the shower screen flooding the bathroom floor making it impossible to dry your feet unless you stood on the toilet. The drains were gunged up with heaven only knows what and it smelt disgusting. Furthermore the combination tap to the sink was extremely loose and the whole assembly could be swivelled 270degrees.
We found all other aspects to the hotel to be satisfactory plus it was reasonably modern, clean in all the public areas and all the staff to be courteous, polite and efficient. However, on our way out for an evening meal, I pointed out the bathroom problems to the frontdesk, they did not seem unduly concerned and sent a cleaner up to mop the floor, dry out the room and also change the towels. Nothing was ever done to rectify the leak, smell or tap. As we were only there for another night and were hardly ever in our room anyway, we put up with it as I thought to difficult to explain why I/we were still dissatisfied.
The Hotel is a short distance from the old town centre but you may wish to get a taxi especially at night. We tried to flag down a taxi for about 30 minutes and the only one that stopped could not understand us – not his fault but it maybe a good idea to get someone to write down in Chinese where you would like to go and you won’t suffer the same fate as us. We went back to the hotel later that evening and had a meal and a drink or two in the 24 hour restaurant. The staff members here were very good and they made us feel very welcome and the meal was very good and not too expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickGrimshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

The least pleasant of the three hotels I stayed in during my China trip. Small room with basic furnishing. Corridors and rooms smell of cigarette smoke. You practically have to hop over the toilet bowl to get to the shower. Slippers are paper thin and safety hazards when wet. Breakfast was not great.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roamabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
2 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#32 of 2,692 in Xi'an
266 reviews
1.5 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#13 of 2,692 in Xi'an
1,093 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#4 of 2,692 in Xi'an
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,692 in Xi'an
793 reviews
2 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.7 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#14 of 2,692 in Xi'an
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xi'an Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an Motel

Address: No.58 Chang'an North Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $38 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Xi'an Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 538
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Xi'an Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xian Hotel Xi An
Xi'An Motel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing