We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an
Ranked #33 of 2,559 Hotels in Xi'an
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable hotel”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed here for two nights with family whilst visitng the terracotta warriors and Wild Goose Pagoda. Nice comfortable hotel, decent facilities and pleasant staff. Not sure about 5 star rating - possibly more like four as bathroom was a little on the small side although functional. Breakfast choices good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    317
    113
    31
    6
See reviews for
62
98
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erieau, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Excellent facilities, very luxurious, could not have asked for a better hotel, Very nice western selection at the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wud2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Although it's a 5 star hotel according to most booking websites, i feel it's really like a 3 star hotel that's a bit overpriced.

Pros:

It has a good location, close to the Bell Tower and city center.

Very nice selection at the breakfast buffet.

Cons:

For its hotel class and price, the hotel really needs some uplift - feels dated. The corridor is dark. The bathroom is a bit small. There could've been better amenities at the room... Not a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knapweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Formerly known as the Grand Hyatt Hotel, this hotel is now in hands of a local investor and the name changed into Grand Metropark Hotel. All functions and services remained, even most of the staff. The hotel is good for both business and leisure guests enjoying the central location near the old city and bright and dynamic neighbourhoods in Xi'an City, China's oldest capital city for 13 dynasties.

The hotel offers a mini-museum shop, a grand restaurant for good meals and quick service. There is a spa and a few fashion shops. Rooms are clean and upgrades are possible. With Internet connections.

Staff is friendly and check-in and check-out are efficient and effective. Good to know, they have an ATM in the lobby.

A sweet place to stay in Xi'an!

Room Tip: Internet booking and hope for an upgrade when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
210 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The Grand Metro Park Hotel in Xi’an is well located in the city near the famous Bell Tower.

My non-smoking room had a double bed, two night tables with lamps, a writing desk and chair along with free broadband, a love seat, an old-fashioned TV set with cable, and a closet that contained two bathrooms and two sets of slippers.

The bathroom had both a bathtub and shower with plenty of hot water, a sink with a great deal of counter space, and plenty of nice towels along with an assortment of shampoos, hair conditioners and body lotion in addition complimentary toothbrushes, a comb, as sewing kit and vanity kit.

Breakfast, which was included in the price of the room, was truly a treat, and I ate like an elephant. There were many kinds of food – all of which I enjoyed immensely.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyclopath43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed there March 18 - 20 as part of a tour. This hotel is located right on the center of town. You're in walking distance of everything! The continental breakfast is also great. The was a variety of Western and local dishes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I am surprised to see the other reviews about "needs refurbishment". When I stayed there last week on the 10th floor, the room was as good and fresh as any top notch hotel. Down duvet covers, down pillows, clean and new bathroom and furniture. I must have been in a newly redone room, but it matched the clean public areas and attentive staff. So, I have trouble imaging any areas that needed refurbishment. In fact, this hotel was the best of all we stayed in on our recent trip to China. The location is great - inside the city wall but near the eastern gate, where it's easy to pop out to the grassy moat/park area right outside in the morning to join the locals in their walking and exercise. 20 minute nice stroll into the center square (not a square, but a cross roads with a historic Bell Tower in the center and two Starbucks and grocery/shops all around). Safe, easy to catch a 1 yuan bus (about 15 cents) if you don't feel like doing the walk.

I also have a soft spot for the buffet restaurant and lunch here. 5 years ago I came to Xi'an on a 2 week volunteer vacation teaching English, and when we periodically needed a break from the Chinese food at the volunteer house, we came here (when it was still a Hyatt, but the food appeared the same) for the best banquet including real French bread and good western cheeses (hard to find these two things anywhere in China). I loved staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytomeetyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,559 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#20 of 2,559 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.5 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
1.0 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#30 of 2,559 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an

Property: Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an
Address: No.158 Dongda Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#30 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#36 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an 4.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Metropark Hotel Xian Located within the historical city walls, in the heart of the shopping and entertainment area, close to the business and government districts. It only takes 10 minutes to the Xi'an Railway Station and about 1 hour to the eighth wonder of the world--Terra Cotta Warriors by car while it is 43 kilometers from the Xi'an Xianyang International Airport. It is also conveniently located close to the Shaanxi Provincial Museum, the Bell Tower and the Big Wild Goose Pagoda.Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an has 315 guest rooms, several restaurants as well as various conference and recreational facilities offering free WIFI and parking.In a new day, you may jog along the ancient city or enjoy the combination of its fashion and history. At the end of the day, you may take a rest in Oasis Lounge charming of the nature via listening attentively to water flowing and birds twittering, watching aromatic herbs and fishes playing. At this cozy moment the whole day shall be pleasing and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Xi An
Hyatt Xi An
Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing