We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“In-room Wi-Fi, perhaps?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
Ranked #16 of 2,459 Hotels in Xi'an
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“In-room Wi-Fi, perhaps?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I've stayed in many different Shangs all over China & the rest of Asia - this is the only one, in my memory, without in-room wifi! So not very convenient if your do not have an ethernet connection on your computer, or if you plan to work with your iPad or iPhone!





  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Dochenry2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    410
    140
    35
    7
See reviews for
109
210
44
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel after a day visiting the Terracotta Warriors. Very large rooms, very quiet, good restaurant, close to train station for pickup by tour guides. Certainly would recommend this when visiting the Warriors.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lance D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hotel is dated but the staff is excellent and work hard to make sure the guests are well taken care of. The restaurant is good and the breakfast provide a lot of local flavor. The staff are attentive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank gaetandureau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

First impression chaotic , many visitors, our key didn't work so had to traipse back to reception to get it re done, no apology! But room very good , lovely beds, Chinese restaurant was very good, recommend it, breakfast again very busy but plentiful.
We were taken to the Tang Dynasty cultural entertainment theatre restaurant for a meal and dance and music show. The food was ok , bit canteen style, music and dancing excellent so worth trying. Obviously the Terracotta Army is a must but don't miss the city wall, very wide , have a stroll or bike ride on it.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Our tour included deluxe room which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

hotel staff are most helpful and friendly. transport arrangements are excellent. clean and comfortable rooms. overall experience is good. however building is getting old, renovation or refurbishment is needed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Alex Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights. I would strongly encourage the upgrade to the Horizon Club... so worth the extra money. By doing so, we got a "more comfortable bed"; I have a great mattress at home and found the mattress a bit uncomfortable, but I heard that Chinese mattresses aren't as comfortable as we wish. But, the upgrade gave us wifi in our room (convenient); breakfast in either the Horizon Club Lounge (not as big as downstairs, but not as crazy busy either as it seems all the tours are fed downstairs at the same time); happy hour fare in the Horizon Club and an overall nice, friendly, peaceful service by the staff at the beginning and end of the day. Xian can be intense. It is a big, crowded, busy city and being able to "retreat" to the hotel on the 9th floor was comforting. We didn't make arrangements to tour the sights through the hotel, but I am sure they would have done a fine job. By the way, if you have a chance, as you exit the hotel, go right and a few blocks away on the right, you will find such interesting streets to wander around. Get off the beaten path and see how the locals live and shop.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Horizon Club. Disappointed in the fitness area... dire need of an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4steppinout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Shangri-La should remove this hotel from its ranks & shame on Avalon waterways tours for using this hotel as part of its "luxury" tour in China. It is simply terrible in every way with run down not cleanly rooms in serious need of remodel & bathrooms are simply disgusting.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sj2000_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear sj2000_10,

Thanks for your comments, please accept our apologize for the inconvenience cause during your stay.

Your feedback on our room condition has been noted and will be investigated by our Executive Housekeeper to address the issues immediately.

Please let me know when you are travelling to Xian so I may personally ensure that you are well taken care of and of course to show you our hospitality in the respective service areas in the hotel.


Regards,
Nancy
Director of S&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
6.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
#4 of 2,459 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,459 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,459 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
2.3 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#12 of 2,459 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an

Property: Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
Address: No.8 Changle West Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710032, China (Formerly Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel)
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#13 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#15 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#35 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an 4*
Number of rooms: 382
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Golden Flower Hotel
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing