We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect location for Xian, Terracotta Army” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel
Ranked #15 of 2,355 Hotels in Xi'an
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Xian, Terracotta Army”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

First impression chaotic , many visitors, our key didn't work so had to traipse back to reception to get it re done, no apology! But room very good , lovely beds, Chinese restaurant was very good, recommend it, breakfast again very busy but plentiful.
We were taken to the Tang Dynasty cultural entertainment theatre restaurant for a meal and dance and music show. The food was ok , bit canteen style, music and dancing excellent so worth trying. Obviously the Terracotta Army is a must but don't miss the city wall, very wide , have a stroll or bike ride on it.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Our tour included deluxe room which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    400
    131
    34
    7
See reviews for
105
198
43
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

hotel staff are most helpful and friendly. transport arrangements are excellent. clean and comfortable rooms. overall experience is good. however building is getting old, renovation or refurbishment is needed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Alex Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights. I would strongly encourage the upgrade to the Horizon Club... so worth the extra money. By doing so, we got a "more comfortable bed"; I have a great mattress at home and found the mattress a bit uncomfortable, but I heard that Chinese mattresses aren't as comfortable as we wish. But, the upgrade gave us wifi in our room (convenient); breakfast in either the Horizon Club Lounge (not as big as downstairs, but not as crazy busy either as it seems all the tours are fed downstairs at the same time); happy hour fare in the Horizon Club and an overall nice, friendly, peaceful service by the staff at the beginning and end of the day. Xian can be intense. It is a big, crowded, busy city and being able to "retreat" to the hotel on the 9th floor was comforting. We didn't make arrangements to tour the sights through the hotel, but I am sure they would have done a fine job. By the way, if you have a chance, as you exit the hotel, go right and a few blocks away on the right, you will find such interesting streets to wander around. Get off the beaten path and see how the locals live and shop.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Horizon Club. Disappointed in the fitness area... dire need of an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4steppinout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Shangri-La should remove this hotel from its ranks & shame on Avalon waterways tours for using this hotel as part of its "luxury" tour in China. It is simply terrible in every way with run down not cleanly rooms in serious need of remodel & bathrooms are simply disgusting.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sj2000_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear sj2000_10,

Thanks for your comments, please accept our apologize for the inconvenience cause during your stay.

Your feedback on our room condition has been noted and will be investigated by our Executive Housekeeper to address the issues immediately.

Please let me know when you are travelling to Xian so I may personally ensure that you are well taken care of and of course to show you our hospitality in the respective service areas in the hotel.


Regards,
Nancy
Director of S&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My favourite hotels over Asia are the Shangri-La, I have never been disappointed.
The Golden Flower Xian was not exception. A very warm welcome at reception desk and money exchange was never a problem. After a long day an early dinner in the hotel restaurant was welcome before retiring for an early night.
Breakfast buffet was very busy and hectic but there were plenty of choices.
On the second night we decided to dine in again this time had a light meal of pizza & salad in the Bar lounge and the highlight was the lovely staff who spoke excellent English and suggested a very good white wine at a reasonable price. I Love the Shangri-La.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peregian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Fabulous staff that are attentive and helpful at all times - huge selection at breakfast. Rooms are huge with everything you may require. The wifi is fast and the pool and Jacuzzi are lovely. As you are a little out of the city, it is quitter than most of the other hotels as a base

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank buffykc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

They offered us an upgraded and gave us a beautiful suite. The room was very clean and we received a very good service. Fitness room and swimming pool on the upper floors. Free wifi only in the common areas. The only problem is that is not located inside the "wall" so you need to take a taxi to go everywhere (but in China taxi are very cheap).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salvatore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
6.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
#3 of 2,355 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,355 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,355 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
2.3 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#13 of 2,355 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel

Property: Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel
Address: NO. 8 Changle West Rd, Xi'an 710032, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#13 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#14 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#41 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing