We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Staff and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel to your Saves list
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Changle West Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710032, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Name/address in local language
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Xian Sights Package
Ranked #14 of 2,327 Hotels in Xi'an
Melbourne
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous Staff and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Fabulous staff that are attentive and helpful at all times - huge selection at breakfast. Rooms are huge with everything you may require. The wifi is fast and the pool and Jacuzzi are lovely. As you are a little out of the city, it is quitter than most of the other hotels as a base

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank buffykc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    394
    127
    33
    6
See reviews for
99
192
41
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

They offered us an upgraded and gave us a beautiful suite. The room was very clean and we received a very good service. Fitness room and swimming pool on the upper floors. Free wifi only in the common areas. The only problem is that is not located inside the "wall" so you need to take a taxi to go everywhere (but in China taxi are very cheap).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salvatore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Booked this hotel by mistake thinking it was the actual Shangri-La.

Unfortunately couldn't have been further from the truth.

This is a pretty generic tour group hotel with not a whole lot to recommend it other than that you can effectively stay there for free if you package a room with flights.

I was going to upgrade this review to four stars since the staff are exceptionally helpful, but unfortunately the wifi was terrible so it gets bumped back down to three.

Hotel location is pretty poor, a few km from the East Gate. However if you do end up staying here I strongly recommend you use the 43 bus which goes from outside the hotel to outside the Bell Tower, rather than wasting your time trying to hail one of the notoriously unreliable taxis (they are usually busy, and if they are empty none of them seem to want to take you here).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panda1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here a while ago. Room is a bit old and amenities are bit outdated. You can still find one of those tube TV thing here - kind of interesting to see those actually.

Having said that, the rooms are very clean and the amenities are well kept in excellent conditions. The services here are top notch and definitely made me feel welcomed here. Everything is well though of and provided ahead even before I realized I needed them. Staffs here are most excellent and I would definitely choose to stay here once again if I return to Xi'an.

Location wise, the hotel is just outside the city wall, but not really within walking distance. Luckily, cabs are cheap in China and Xi'an is no exception. Transit may get better in the future as I think a subway line is opening soon near the hotel.

Also, the hotel arranges mini private tour-guided trips to the terracotta warrior's tomb (450RMB including ticket to the tomb, which cost 150RMB itself. So you pay 300 for a private round trip with a tour guide - saved me from a lot of travelling time and sweating on buses).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Staying at the Golden Flower was a great experience. My husband and I celebrated our 20th anniversary, and when the staff found out, they made sure we got a room with a nice view, and send complimentary fruits and chocolates. The service in the horizon club floor was well worth the extra bucks we paid for. We had breakfast and cocktails everyday. The quiet ambiance made it more relaxing and truly a good experience for my husband and myself. Location though was not great since there were no shops around the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Emilie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

i've been traveling to Xian for many years for business and i wouldn't go back if the Golden flower Hotel wasn't there. There staff makes you feel at home, with exceptional service and caring. I've stayed at other hotels and have paid a small amount more and less, but they don't have the culture of customer satisfaction.

Room Tip: any room is fit for a king or a queen. cannot choose wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great organizational skills and helpful. Very accommodating. The tour guide, Louie, was very knowledgeable and he had a great command of the English language. I had only one day in this city and we saw as much as possible and the hotel helped us accomplish that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,327 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,327 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
#3 of 2,327 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
2.3 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#13 of 2,327 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel

Property: Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel
Address: No.8 Changle West Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710032, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#13 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#14 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#27 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing