We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
Ranked #19 of 2,582 Hotels in Xi'an
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here a while ago. Room is a bit old and amenities are bit outdated. You can still find one of those tube TV thing here - kind of interesting to see those actually.

Having said that, the rooms are very clean and the amenities are well kept in excellent conditions. The services here are top notch and definitely made me feel welcomed here. Everything is well though of and provided ahead even before I realized I needed them. Staffs here are most excellent and I would definitely choose to stay here once again if I return to Xi'an.

Location wise, the hotel is just outside the city wall, but not really within walking distance. Luckily, cabs are cheap in China and Xi'an is no exception. Transit may get better in the future as I think a subway line is opening soon near the hotel.

Also, the hotel arranges mini private tour-guided trips to the terracotta warrior's tomb (450RMB including ticket to the tomb, which cost 150RMB itself. So you pay 300 for a private round trip with a tour guide - saved me from a lot of travelling time and sweating on buses).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    422
    155
    36
    8
See reviews for
115
225
47
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Staying at the Golden Flower was a great experience. My husband and I celebrated our 20th anniversary, and when the staff found out, they made sure we got a room with a nice view, and send complimentary fruits and chocolates. The service in the horizon club floor was well worth the extra bucks we paid for. We had breakfast and cocktails everyday. The quiet ambiance made it more relaxing and truly a good experience for my husband and myself. Location though was not great since there were no shops around the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Emilie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

i've been traveling to Xian for many years for business and i wouldn't go back if the Golden flower Hotel wasn't there. There staff makes you feel at home, with exceptional service and caring. I've stayed at other hotels and have paid a small amount more and less, but they don't have the culture of customer satisfaction.

Room Tip: any room is fit for a king or a queen. cannot choose wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great organizational skills and helpful. Very accommodating. The tour guide, Louie, was very knowledgeable and he had a great command of the English language. I had only one day in this city and we saw as much as possible and the hotel helped us accomplish that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This Shangri-La is a second class, a bit old, not renovated, quite central. Staff service is good, many staff speak English, and they will be helpful in many ways. Overall the quality of the rooms is not bad, quite big, comfy, and clean, though certainly not modern neither new. Problem here is the organised tours from Europe, they seem to represent the majority of clients, and as they will not be coming back, so I guess it is not worth the effort to upgrade the hotel facilities.
Next time will try the other Shangri-La or Hilton.
Prices are much lower here.

Room Tip: On the back street to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PasqualeBaiKui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, AL
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel may be a little dated, but the superb service and spaciousness makes up for it. Nice large room with sitting area. Internet available in the room. The complimentary breakfast including omelets and waffles along with other western and eastern delights was the best one of my trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeLoafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Being a loyal guest of Shangri-La is was an easy decision where we going to stay during our stay in Xi'An.
We stayed for 2 nights. Our rooms were spacious and one of our two connecting rooms was upgraded to a junior suite. That was much appreciated.
The service level and the attention to personal detail is typical for Shangri-La and I am yet to stay with another hotel chain that meets that time and again.

The hotel itself is probably in need for a refurbishment. The room furnishing, the tv and dvd player... it all feels a little dated. Probably 7 or 8 years old. Also that the bathroom does not have a separate shower is a little inconvenient. I would probably expect that in most 5-star hotels by now.

The room service food is good and exceptionally well priced.
There is enough staff that speaks very good English making it easy to communicate and get the services you require.

The breakfast buffet felt a little limited and was not topped-up properly in the last 30-45 minutes.

So... not quite sure if the 5* rating is currently fully justified. Given I stayed in Traders Hotel Beijing recently (also Shangri-La managed), which was rated 4* and felt equally good.

But.... we are planning to go back to Xi'An later this year and we are very likely going to stay here again. it is good value for money and you just really feel it home with Shangri-La hospitality.

BTW: My wife has a massage and she said it was very good, and again very reasonably priced at 300 RMB for 90 minutes. Not really a SPA though, but more of a massage facility.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expat_from_NL_in_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
3.2 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,582 in Xi'an
474 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,582 in Xi'an
618 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,582 in Xi'an
865 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an

Property: Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
Address: No.8 Changle West Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710032, China (Formerly Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel)
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#13 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#16 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#18 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an 4*
Number of rooms: 382
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Golden Flower Hotel
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing