We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second class Shangri-La at good prices.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
Ranked #19 of 2,559 Hotels in Xi'an
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Second class Shangri-La at good prices.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This Shangri-La is a second class, a bit old, not renovated, quite central. Staff service is good, many staff speak English, and they will be helpful in many ways. Overall the quality of the rooms is not bad, quite big, comfy, and clean, though certainly not modern neither new. Problem here is the organised tours from Europe, they seem to represent the majority of clients, and as they will not be coming back, so I guess it is not worth the effort to upgrade the hotel facilities.
Next time will try the other Shangri-La or Hilton.
Prices are much lower here.

Room Tip: On the back street to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PasqualeBaiKui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    420
    151
    36
    8
See reviews for
114
220
47
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel may be a little dated, but the superb service and spaciousness makes up for it. Nice large room with sitting area. Internet available in the room. The complimentary breakfast including omelets and waffles along with other western and eastern delights was the best one of my trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeLoafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Being a loyal guest of Shangri-La is was an easy decision where we going to stay during our stay in Xi'An.
We stayed for 2 nights. Our rooms were spacious and one of our two connecting rooms was upgraded to a junior suite. That was much appreciated.
The service level and the attention to personal detail is typical for Shangri-La and I am yet to stay with another hotel chain that meets that time and again.

The hotel itself is probably in need for a refurbishment. The room furnishing, the tv and dvd player... it all feels a little dated. Probably 7 or 8 years old. Also that the bathroom does not have a separate shower is a little inconvenient. I would probably expect that in most 5-star hotels by now.

The room service food is good and exceptionally well priced.
There is enough staff that speaks very good English making it easy to communicate and get the services you require.

The breakfast buffet felt a little limited and was not topped-up properly in the last 30-45 minutes.

So... not quite sure if the 5* rating is currently fully justified. Given I stayed in Traders Hotel Beijing recently (also Shangri-La managed), which was rated 4* and felt equally good.

But.... we are planning to go back to Xi'An later this year and we are very likely going to stay here again. it is good value for money and you just really feel it home with Shangri-La hospitality.

BTW: My wife has a massage and she said it was very good, and again very reasonably priced at 300 RMB for 90 minutes. Not really a SPA though, but more of a massage facility.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expat_from_NL_in_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
129 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Location is just outside the city walls. However traffic is pretty bad in Xian - so be prepared for jams.

Rooms are very dated (felt like it was the late 80s), bed needed to be changed, the bathroom floor can be a killer when wet - extremely slippery and smooth. Amenities in the bathroom could be better - no razor/ shaving cream.

Not easy to get cabs at this property unless you walk out to the street.

However, having said all that - the service here is typical shangri-la, i.e top notch.

In future would probably stay at a newer hotel.

Room Tip: corner rooms are a lot larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flitting_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Golden Flower is a good choice for business and tourism, the peolple from lobby to bar and restaurant are very friendly and nice.
The rooms are comfortable and all the service provided are good as you can expect from a Shangri-La hotel.
The only negative point is the location, in Xi'An the traffic is pretty bad and to go in downtown ( Bell tower ) you will need at least 25 minutes by taxi (for a cost of 20-25 RMB).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Doriano D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just stay in June 2013 at the Golden Flower Hotel. Everything was fantastic. Just a heads up for all Western travellers. If you want to swim in a pool in China you must have a swimming cap. Something no one from Australia would ever take with them unless they are a professional swimmer, so pack on in your bag if you are going to China.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StueyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Rooms are clean, quiet and no smell of paint and chemicals. Facility is well managed. People are friendly. Services are excellent. Foods are good. Location is close to downtown and easy to access. I will come back to this hotel agian after vacation.

Room Tip: Beds are comfortable. TV with many channels. Lighting system is simple. Free WiFi covers public area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Jianchao H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,559 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,559 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
1.9 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
4.3 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,559 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an

Property: Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
Address: No.8 Changle West Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710032, China (Formerly Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel)
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#13 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#17 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#21 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an 4*
Number of rooms: 382
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Golden Flower Hotel
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing