We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (901)
Filter reviews
901 results
Traveler rating
243
443
166
39
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
443
166
39
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast buffet tour group stayed here for two nights terracotta warriors tourist hotel room was large other hotels very nice hotel standard room chinese food bell tower drum tower shangri china city english shanghai
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 901 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel may be a little dated, but the superb service and spaciousness makes up for it. Nice large room with sitting area. Internet available in the room. The complimentary breakfast including omelets and waffles along with other western and eastern delights was the best one of my trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakeLoafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Being a loyal guest of Shangri-La is was an easy decision where we going to stay during our stay in Xi'An.
We stayed for 2 nights. Our rooms were spacious and one of our two connecting rooms was upgraded to a junior suite. That was much appreciated.
The service level and the attention to personal detail is typical for Shangri-La and I am yet to stay with another hotel chain that meets that time and again.

The hotel itself is probably in need for a refurbishment. The room furnishing, the tv and dvd player... it all feels a little dated. Probably 7 or 8 years old. Also that the bathroom does not have a separate shower is a little inconvenient. I would probably expect that in most 5-star hotels by now.

The room service food is good and exceptionally well priced.
There is enough staff that speaks very good English making it easy to communicate and get the services you require.

The breakfast buffet felt a little limited and was not topped-up properly in the last 30-45 minutes.

So... not quite sure if the 5* rating is currently fully justified. Given I stayed in Traders Hotel Beijing recently (also Shangri-La managed), which was rated 4* and felt equally good.

But.... we are planning to go back to Xi'An later this year and we are very likely going to stay here again. it is good value for money and you just really feel it home with Shangri-La hospitality.

BTW: My wife has a massage and she said it was very good, and again very reasonably priced at 300 RMB for 90 minutes. Not really a SPA though, but more of a massage facility.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expat_from_NL_in_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Location is just outside the city walls. However traffic is pretty bad in Xian - so be prepared for jams.

Rooms are very dated (felt like it was the late 80s), bed needed to be changed, the bathroom floor can be a killer when wet - extremely slippery and smooth. Amenities in the bathroom could be better - no razor/ shaving cream.

Not easy to get cabs at this property unless you walk out to the street.

However, having said all that - the service here is typical shangri-la, i.e top notch.

In future would probably stay at a newer hotel.

Room Tip: corner rooms are a lot larger
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flitting_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Golden Flower is a good choice for business and tourism, the peolple from lobby to bar and restaurant are very friendly and nice.
The rooms are comfortable and all the service provided are good as you can expect from a Shangri-La hotel.
The only negative point is the location, in Xi'An the traffic is pretty bad and to go in downtown ( Bell tower ) you will need at least 25 minutes by taxi (for a cost of 20-25 RMB).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Doriano D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just stay in June 2013 at the Golden Flower Hotel. Everything was fantastic. Just a heads up for all Western travellers. If you want to swim in a pool in China you must have a swimming cap. Something no one from Australia would ever take with them unless they are a professional swimmer, so pack on in your bag if you are going to China.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StueyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews