We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Golden Flower is a Great Olace to Stay in Xian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
Ranked #16 of 2,461 Hotels in Xi'an
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Golden Flower is a Great Olace to Stay in Xian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Shangri-La Golden Flower is a great western style hotel in China. The city of Xian is very large so the hotel selection is very good. The Hotel is quite modern with large rooms and large bathrooms. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. Service was quite good and the breakfast included in our stay was excellent with western and asian selections available.. The locatioins is fine for visiting other sites.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth617_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    411
    140
    36
    7
See reviews for
109
210
44
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We visited Xi'an to see the terracotta warriors and stayed at this hotel. The rooms are comfortable - nothing really special though. it could be an average 3 star hotel room anywhere in the world. The dinner buffet was very good, and the location is fairly central.
Xi'an is a sprawling city filled with ugly high rises, and we were a little discouraged when we drove in from the airport.
However, getting to see the terracotta warriors was amazing, especially since we went early on Monday morning, when there were not too many people.
The city wall is gorgeous, and worth seeing too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsybloood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Rooms were very spacious and comfortable -the connecting rooms worked very well for a family. The pool are was fun to use and good addition. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we found the restaurant excellent - due to poor weather we even had an evening meal there and were very pleasantly surprised as we try to eat out of the hotels if at all possible. Difficult to comment on its location as it was raining and we went everywhere by taxi - seemed reasonably located. All in all pretty good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charpant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was the second hotel in a 3 city tour of China. Of the 3 hotels, this one came in third but that doesn't mean it was bad. The rooms aren't as modern as the Pullman in Beijing or the Renaissance in Shanghai but they were clean and wifi was available IN ROOM for no extra charge unlike the others. The elevators are tiny so it may take several trips if you have a large group or a lot of luggage to get to your floor. Staff was superb and the breakfast was wonderful. There may be nicer hotels in Xi'an but there is nothing wrong with the Golden Flower and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeerBio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Shangri La Golden Flower hotel in mid April. Rooms are simple and modern, and in good condition. Our room had two single beds, a sofa, desk, flat screen TV with CNN and BBC in English, and a mini safe. The bathroom was well appointed and modern. Two complimentary bottles of water are provided daily. Note that in China, a standard two bed room contains two single beds. If there is a third person in the room you need to reserve a roll away bed. There is a good sized indoor pool and hot tub. Note that swim caps are required, even for bald people like me. They have a few you can borrow if you don’t have one. The workout room has a good assortment of cardio and weight machines. Breakfast was included in our room rate, and was a variety of western and Asian dishes, plenty to choose from. The front desk was very helpful and efficient, and a greeter was always there to chat and make sure everything was ok with our stay. The location isn’t really near any sights, so if you aren’t in tour group, you will need a taxi to get to the center of town. It seems like a safe area. We had no issues, this is a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jah39a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a short vacation in April of 2013. We bought a package deal with breakfast and tour to see the warriors and main points in the city. The hotel is not new, but well kept. The rooms are ok size, good housekeeping, and very friendly and helpful staff. The tour guide was very good and accommodating. We enjoyed our stay and the tour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having stayed in several fabulous Shangri La Hotels this was a disappointment. The hotel is rated 5 star however is 3 star at best. We rejected our first room as soon as we walked in due to stains on furniture and carpet. Carpet in the hallways was worn, torn and dirty - not due to staff lack of attention but in need of complete replacement. The hallway also smelled. Staff up graded us to a premier room that was large and comfortable enough however a cost saving reno of the bathroom left a tub that should have been replaced (stained tiles, painted over sealant). Furniture in the main areas needs replacement as much of it is frayed and again covered with stains, the worst being the chairs in the cafe. The breakfast buffet was plentiful yet the food unattractive. The best thing about the hotel was the staff who were all helpful, polite and delightful.

Room Tip: Go for the premier. The room is very spacious and ours at least was in much better shape than the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales & Marketing at Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Nora G, thanks for your feedback of our property. We are sorry to hear with your stay experience with us. Your feedback has been taken note and will be investigated by our Management. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay and look forward to exceeding your expectation on your next trip with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
6.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
#3 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,461 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
2.3 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#12 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an

Property: Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
Address: No.8 Changle West Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710032, China (Formerly Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel)
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#13 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#15 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#35 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an 4*
Number of rooms: 382
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Expedia so you can book your Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Golden Flower Hotel
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing