We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“good hotel, friendly/helpful staff, very good english speaking tourguide” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
Ranked #16 of 2,461 Hotels in Xi'an
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“good hotel, friendly/helpful staff, very good english speaking tourguide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a short vacation in April of 2013. We bought a package deal with breakfast and tour to see the warriors and main points in the city. The hotel is not new, but well kept. The rooms are ok size, good housekeeping, and very friendly and helpful staff. The tour guide was very good and accommodating. We enjoyed our stay and the tour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    410
    140
    36
    7
See reviews for
109
210
44
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having stayed in several fabulous Shangri La Hotels this was a disappointment. The hotel is rated 5 star however is 3 star at best. We rejected our first room as soon as we walked in due to stains on furniture and carpet. Carpet in the hallways was worn, torn and dirty - not due to staff lack of attention but in need of complete replacement. The hallway also smelled. Staff up graded us to a premier room that was large and comfortable enough however a cost saving reno of the bathroom left a tub that should have been replaced (stained tiles, painted over sealant). Furniture in the main areas needs replacement as much of it is frayed and again covered with stains, the worst being the chairs in the cafe. The breakfast buffet was plentiful yet the food unattractive. The best thing about the hotel was the staff who were all helpful, polite and delightful.

Room Tip: Go for the premier. The room is very spacious and ours at least was in much better shape than the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales & Marketing at Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Nora G, thanks for your feedback of our property. We are sorry to hear with your stay experience with us. Your feedback has been taken note and will be investigated by our Management. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay and look forward to exceeding your expectation on your next trip with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights having previously stayed at the Shangri-la hotels in both Hong Kong and Beijing on this trip. There is no comparison. The Golden Flower ( described as a Shangri-la hotel)in Xi'an is at best 3 star, public areas tired, corridors having stained carpets, unpleasant odour on our 7th floor corridor. Our room was upgraded to a premium room after we complained of the first one where the furniture and carpet were stained ( we are Golden Circle members) and while it was comfortable and reasonably clean, the bathroom was tired and small, urgently needing gutting and replacing. Shocking to us was that the towels were paper thin, in line with what one would find in a 1 or 2 star establishment. The staff were very pleasant and tried hard to be helpful. The breakfast buffet was adequate but far below what we experienced in the other 2 cities, in other words nothing special. We noticed that the carpet in the lobby was frayed in places as were the bottom of the sofas. The bar area on the main floor was fine with newer carpets, We had a private driver and thus were not bothered much by the long distances from the major sites but clearly the location is less than ideal.
We were told that there is in fact another Shangri- la hotel in the city , opened about 5 years ago
but we didn't get a chance to see it. This Golden Flower hotel is 25 years old and looks its age.
We didn't use the spa but accidentally gave it a terrible rating which we are unable to correct.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 92JesseG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales & Marketing at Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear 92 JesseG, thanks for your feedback of our property, we apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Hotel facilities maintenance is one of our highest priority, your feedbacks on our guest room have been taken note and will be investigated by the Management. We look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

It was winter. We enter to our room and the first thing we saw was an extra heater on the middle of the hall. We realized after the reason. The room was a fridge and the bathroom was the freezer. Moreover the bathroom was completely outdated. To give an idea the TV was the old big ones TV. You do not expect to see it in a 5 star hotel. Location is very poor. It is far from the nice area and the neighbourhood is not nice. It was a big dissapointment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales & Marketing at Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Pablo L, thank you for your feedback of our property. We are sorry to hear with your stay experience with us. The Golden Flower Hotel, Xian located within city proximity provides easy access to some major attractions like the Terra Cotta Warriors and Ming City Wall. Your feedback on our guest room has been taken note and will be investigated by our Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineering. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay and look forward to exceeding your expectation on your next trip with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Like anywhere in China it's wonderful to get out of the din, crush of humanity, and pollition, and enter the calm of a good hotel. This place will not let you down. Staff are cordial, but perfunctory. Rooms a spacious and comfortable, with western style baths a welcome amenity. Breakfast service was superb. You'll not go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Make sure your "non-smoking" rooms was not last occupied by those who smoke the awful Asia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was a bit out of the way. You definitely needed transport to get to the centre of the city and to major attractions. There was construction on site and many of the advertised facilities such as the Salon/Hairdresser and the Gym were either unavailable or working very odd hours to accommodate guests at the hotel. Breakfast was such a crowded and frustrating excercise with seemingly endless queues of people for every table and extremely noisy. However, the food choices were more than adequate once you managed to get to them. This was not much help when you had a tour bus to catch at a given time. The hotel was obviously working to capacity and the staff appeared stressed and anxious. I must admit that I expected better from the "brand" Shangri-la Hotel. Overall, this was definitely not one of my enjoyable hotel experiences.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first - lower floors can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakbay2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales & Marketing at Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Lakbay2009,
thank you for your feedback of our property. We are sorry to hear with your stay experience with us. The Golden Flower Hotel, located within city proximity provide easy access to some attractions like the Terra Cotta Warriors and Ming City Wall. With regards to the hotel Health Club and Beauty Salon, we apologize for the temporary facilities upgrade that has caused your inconvenience. Your feedback on our Food and Beverage have been taken note and will be investigated by our F&B Manager. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay and look forward to exceeding your expectation on your next trip with us. Hence, please feel free to contact me at communications.slx@shangri-la.com or 86 29 8323 2981 so that we can address your concerns directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during abusiness trip to Xian. It's a good hotel, staff is very friendly and make you confortable with their helpful nature. They make you feel good. Restaurant is good. Rooms are spacious and clean. if you prefer non-smoking room let them know since smoking rooms are located in one wing and non smoking in other. If you wnt to visit City hotel staff call a city cab for you, ensure to carry hotel card with Cinease since cab drivers don't understand English.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bharat188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
6.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
#3 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,461 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
2.3 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#12 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an

Property: Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
Address: No.8 Changle West Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710032, China (Formerly Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel)
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#13 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#15 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#34 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an 4*
Number of rooms: 382
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Golden Flower Hotel
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing