We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Better Than Their Website Presentation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
Ranked #16 of 2,461 Hotels in Xi'an
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Better Than Their Website Presentation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Like anywhere in China it's wonderful to get out of the din, crush of humanity, and pollition, and enter the calm of a good hotel. This place will not let you down. Staff are cordial, but perfunctory. Rooms a spacious and comfortable, with western style baths a welcome amenity. Breakfast service was superb. You'll not go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Make sure your "non-smoking" rooms was not last occupied by those who smoke the awful Asia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    410
    140
    36
    7
See reviews for
109
210
44
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was a bit out of the way. You definitely needed transport to get to the centre of the city and to major attractions. There was construction on site and many of the advertised facilities such as the Salon/Hairdresser and the Gym were either unavailable or working very odd hours to accommodate guests at the hotel. Breakfast was such a crowded and frustrating excercise with seemingly endless queues of people for every table and extremely noisy. However, the food choices were more than adequate once you managed to get to them. This was not much help when you had a tour bus to catch at a given time. The hotel was obviously working to capacity and the staff appeared stressed and anxious. I must admit that I expected better from the "brand" Shangri-la Hotel. Overall, this was definitely not one of my enjoyable hotel experiences.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first - lower floors can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakbay2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales & Marketing at Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Lakbay2009,
thank you for your feedback of our property. We are sorry to hear with your stay experience with us. The Golden Flower Hotel, located within city proximity provide easy access to some attractions like the Terra Cotta Warriors and Ming City Wall. With regards to the hotel Health Club and Beauty Salon, we apologize for the temporary facilities upgrade that has caused your inconvenience. Your feedback on our Food and Beverage have been taken note and will be investigated by our F&B Manager. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay and look forward to exceeding your expectation on your next trip with us. Hence, please feel free to contact me at communications.slx@shangri-la.com or 86 29 8323 2981 so that we can address your concerns directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during abusiness trip to Xian. It's a good hotel, staff is very friendly and make you confortable with their helpful nature. They make you feel good. Restaurant is good. Rooms are spacious and clean. if you prefer non-smoking room let them know since smoking rooms are located in one wing and non smoking in other. If you wnt to visit City hotel staff call a city cab for you, ensure to carry hotel card with Cinease since cab drivers don't understand English.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bharat188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel is neither close to any tourist destination nor any attractions; in fact it stands alone in at the high tech zone which is middle of nowhere. Room was clean and big enough, but slightly old, probably due to too many tour groups and conference delegates stay there. Very hard to find a taxi, especially at rush hours. Hotel's doorwoman was friendly but unable to help much. Restaurants are good; the Thai one probably is the most authentic one in town. Buffet stands for Shangri-La’s reputation.

Room Tip: choose higher floors for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinibearX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

There were five us on this trip, so we stayed in two rooms. Both were adequate and clean. The hotel was fine just needed some updating. The pool was good for the kids. Remember to take bathing caps or you will pay 250rmb for each head you have. We did manage to get them to give us two to borrow. We stayed on the club level. This was a good upgrade as there was free dinner and free alcoholic drinks, as well as drinks for the younger set.

We ended up leaving about 20 dsi games behind. Kids video games that go in handheld players. We called the hotel and they sent them to us. So, kudos to the staff for that.

Overall, an average hotel with great customer service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights during a recent tour through China. I understand now what Frommers means by the hotel's "switched on service." The service at the hotel was excellent and, beyond this, we felt that it was provided with a sincere, personal touch. The staff (from the greeter at the airport -- we pre-booked the car service to and from the hotel, which I recommend, to the staff in the hotel lobby and in the Horizon Club) made us feel very welcome and at home. We celebrated our daughter's 11th birthday while in Xi'an and the staff sent a very nice birthday cake to our room. It helped make our daughter's birthday that much more special. Of all the hotels we visited in China (and we were happy with them all), we are thankful we stayed at the Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel during our daughter's birthday.

Our room was very comfortable and quiet (even though we were facing the front of the hotel). I recommend booking the Horizon Club floor; it includes access to the Horizon Club lounge, free breakfast, and evening pre-dinner food and drinks.

I was a little hesitant to book the hotel's tour of the Terra Cotta Warrior museum because the cost (450 yuan per adult, less for children) seemed to be noticeably higher than if we did it ourselves. However, we ended up booking the tour through the hotel and are happy that we did. It was much more convenient for the hotel to handle everything, including transportation to and from the museum, and Michael, the tour guide, was very knowledgeable and professional. He began telling us about the history of the Terra Cotta Warriors during the approximately 45 minute drive to the museum (the hotel's driver appeared to take a less congested route than the normal route that would have been taken by a taxi, making the ride more pleasant), so the formal tour began from the time we left the hotel. Michael also appeared to navigate us through the better parts of the museum complex and even tried to help us with price negotiation in the gift shop.

The one downside to the hotel (if someone is visiting Xi'an to see more than the Terra Cotta Warrior museum) is that the location is (for most people) well beyond walking distance from the city wall. The taxi ride to the East gate took us about 15 to 20 minutes, but the taxi ride from the South gate back to the hotel took about twice as long. If one is able, it appears to be much better to go to the city wall in the morning, or at least before 2:00pm. It is sometimes very difficult to flag down a taxi (even by the bellhops at the hotels) in the mid afternoon to early evening. I have the impression that the hotels are not able to call in a taxi by phone in this city.

We very much enjoyed the cycling on top of the city wall. If it is not too cold, I also recommend timing the cycling on the city wall so that you can see the sun go down and the lights turn on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillySeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is large hotel that caters to many groups. The hotel rooms need a bit of tlc, although everything was clean and functional. Our room was exceedingly warm (central control!) so we asked have our windows opened and that worked fine. Smallish, older bathroom in need of freshening up. Breakfast buffet was very, very busy and noisy. Overall, not a bad, but just average experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RecentlyRetired2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
6.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
#3 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,461 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
2.3 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#12 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an

Property: Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
Address: No.8 Changle West Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710032, China (Formerly Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel)
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#13 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#15 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#34 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an 4*
Number of rooms: 382
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Expedia so you can book your Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Golden Flower Hotel
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing