We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Reviews (880)
Filter reviews
880 results
Traveler rating
239
433
159
39
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
433
159
39
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshangri la hotelan older hotelbreakfast buffettour groupstayed here for two nightsbusy roadterracotta warriorswendy wu tourtourist hotelone night stayroom was largedecent sizechina tourother hotelschinese restaurantmetro stationcomfortable hotel
Filter
Updating list...
333 - 338 of 880 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Recently stayed here to visit the Terra Cotta soldiers located in Xi'an.

No problem with check-in, however the staff appeared overwhelmed during the buffet breakfast when several tour groups converged all at once...they could have used additional help.

The non-smoking areas still reeked of smoke since several patrons ignored the "No Smoking" signs.

We found mold in our bathtub in the bathroom which made us wonder if disinfectant was not used.

Room Tip: Non-smoking 6th floor, but be aware, everywhere smells of smoke regardless...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEUS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Shangri la for 3 nights as a base for Xian and the Terracotta Army. Check in was good and the staff were helpful and efficient throughout. The rooms were clean and comfortable as you would expect in a hotel of this catagory. Breakfasts were good although busy if your time coincided with a large tour group. The restaurant and bar were reasonable value ( better value than Beijing and Shanghai hotels ) with a good atmosphere. The hotel location is poor, in a grubby area about a mile from the city walls but taxis are cheap and recommended. The hotel recommended an excellent tour guide for a visit to the Terracotta Army called Michael ( can be contacted direct michaelywl@yahoo.com.cn ). His knowledge and english were outstanding and we were glad we opted for a guide with car rather than a large bus tour.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RK104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for five nights in October. We upgraded to the Horizen Club which was worth the extra dollars for the additions of breakfast and evening happy hour. Not the closest to the centre of Xian but if you are just passing through on a Warriors tour then this is a very comfy hotel to stop for a few days. Staff extremely helpful. Gym & Pool were sufficient for any use although the sauna was being renovated at time of visit. Rooms clean and bed quite comfy.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Horizen club - with the exchange rate so good its worth the extra dollars
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of a China land tour arranged through Princess Cruise Lines. The hotel's website says it is 4 star, but 3 stars is more realistic. In it's day I'm sure it was very nice, but it is tired and warn looking now. The carpets were threadbare and needed cleaning. Otherwise the room was clean and tidy. The beds were OK, but we had asked for a king room and got one with two twin beds. The room was very large, with comfortable seating, but everything was old and tired looking. Our plan included a buffet breakfast, but the restaurant was overwhelmed by the number of people who showed up all at the same time. The eggs were undercooked, and they ran out of many things, including coffee and coffee cups. But all in all, it wasn't a bad experience, especially for China.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The Traveling Commander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

While I had a pleasant stay at this hotel, it is realistically a 3-star quality hotel back in the States. The carpets looked like something at a 1972 Holiday Inn, the toilet was on its last leg and could barely flush, and accessing wifi involved constantly moving around the room to pick up a signal that kept getting lost. The bed was decent, rooms very clean, and room service dining was quite good, as well as staff helpful and kind (although the only place in China where I was made to feel uncomfortable to offer the staff a tip for dropping off room service). It's a fine stay for China, but just set your expectations a little lower than mine were from perusing their website before my stay. Our guide also let it be known the streets around the hotel are not very safe and heavily pickpocketed - albeit the case in any similar sized city probably anywhere in the world. Still.... could be a better location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews