We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning awful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian
Ranked #53 of 2,616 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Do not stay here. Rooms are not clean. Bed linen is like sack cloth. Staff are unhelpful, customer service is appalling, staff hide behind their lack of English and ignore the issue rather than trying to resolve it. Should not have the star rating it has. One of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in throughout the world. Food is at best average.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Noodles2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson G, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us.
I was very concerned to learn that you found the room and the service of hotel disappointing; I am truly sorry for this, we strive to provide a excellent service for every customer; therefore, your feedback is very important to us, we have brought this to the attention of relevant department. and also we will improve our service to make customer satisfied.
once again, we appreciate your share experience with us, it is hope us to make things right and give us an opportunity to better service for customer in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 273 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

I found this hotel the best because this is the most convinient hotel i have ever seen in china
Best built up, in the center of the city, hospitality is excelent, easy to communicate (very easy to talk in english) as compaired to other hotel i have been in china
Visited many place in China, first time visited to Xi'An but felt very homely.

Room Tip: Higher floor good view no trafic noise Big Size Rooms Room No.1501 Is the perfect one.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saurabh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

rooms are simple, staff must improve English skills, buffet breakfast is ok
the bed and pillows are too soft, could not have a good night sleep
concierge was nice, friendly with helping attitude
very goode location ,about 7-10 minutes walk to the centre

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agadudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel was a big disappointment after our other hotels in China. Our previously booked room was not available on arrival. The room smelled musty, the furnishings were dark and old fashioned. The food was fair only, the dining room carpets very heavily stained. Staff had poor English speaking skills. Our view of the City wall was available only if one craned one's neck at a very awkward angle. We paid top money for this hotel and were very disappointed.Best service from staff members was from the bell boys. The front desk staff were both asleep when we came down one morning for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilcoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel is located beside the old city wall and from the room you have a nice view on it. The room is large, clean and quite. The staff was very kind and friendly. We got a non-smoking room and it was clean though the furnishings were a bit old-fashioned style. In the room there was a big flat-screen TV and free internet use.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed here as part of an organised tour. Room was comfortable and clean. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was quite good and great choice of food. Dinner was also included and this was very good, again a huge choice. The hotel is located beside the old city wall and looks really well, lit up at night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank jemob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Check in was quick. The room was very spacious - we could almost have held a party in it! Breakfast was fair and could have been better. The hotel has a little shopping arcade next to the lifts. The hotel is right next to the Old City Wall. On the first night of our stay at the hotel the Old City Wall was all lit up with bright lights. However the next night there were no lights on it at all!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out onto the Old City Wall.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fun2travelCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#14 of 2,616 in Xi'an
499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#28 of 2,616 in Xi'an
97 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#32 of 2,616 in Xi'an
342 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aurum International
Aurum International
#43 of 2,616 in Xi'an
189 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian

Address: No.18 West Section, Huancheng South Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710048, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an > Beilin District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $64 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Xi An
Xi An Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing