We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, but very hard beds”
Review of Grand Noble Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Noble Hotel
Ranked #9 of 2,688 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is very nicely located within the old city, with many businesses and restaurants in the vicinity. The lobby is elegantly appointed, but the front desk staff has limited English, which, in a hotel that is favored by tour groups is a bit surprising.

Our room was very nicely appointed, and comfortable, with the exception of the bed. It was the hardest bed that we have ever slept on - or tried to sleep on. We asked the front desk if we might be able to get a pad to help cushion the mattress, and the request was eventually understood, but the pad was very thin, and of no help. Luckily we were only there two nights, and I spent most of the nights in the chair. It wasn't very comfortable, yet the chair was softer than the bed.

We had two meals in the cafe off the lobby, and found the food to be excellent, and the service staff very attentive. Once again, their English was limited, but with gestures and pointing to items on the menu, we were understood, and our orders were always correct.

WiFi was available in the lobby, which was inconvenient, but the connection was good, and we had no problems with our downloads.

Except for the uncomfortable bed, this hotel offered all that a visitor could want. We had prepared ourselves for the "firm" beds in China but this bed was the hardest we've encountered.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nonna-Papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 950 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

Excellent position in the heart of the walled city. Nice rooms and reasonable priced restaurants and bars . No WiFi in the rooms only in the lobby was a bit annoying. I left very early for a flight and try as I might I could not get them to turn on outside lights to illuminate the steps. This was unsafe.
Decent breakfast buffet. Very reasonable house wine by the glass and bottle available in the cafe/restaurant. Nice pastries too. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel was amazing. The one bad thing is no one spoke english well or understood what we were saying and 5 people including managers all gave us different answers. One young concierge was very helpful and helped us get the bus to terracota warriors. Which is very easy take bus 611 get off at the terminal then cross the street and take tourism bus 306 in total will cost you 8 yuan there 8 yuan back. The hotel restaurant was delicious for breakfest and the supper buffet was super cheap and so was the restaurant and the staff was very friendly. Also i would highly recomend getting a massage it was very cheap compared to prices in canada and they even gave us a discount. The rooms were very nice and warm and the hotel is in an amazing location. Very close to the wall and drum tower and malls and shops and street vendors. By far the best hotel in xian. Highly recomend. If it wasnt for the communication problem i would give this hotel a perfect rating. Even have personal drivers you can rent for very cheap prices.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silent_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a tour of China.

This hotel is located in a busy city center.
Hotel lobby was lovely and clean.

The room was also very clean with comfortable beds.
Complementary toiletries and tea/coffee.
Good hot shower. However shower glass window didn't have a great seal and it did cause water to leak onto the floor of the bathroom but that's what towels are for.

Its location is ideal if you wanted to go shopping in the afternoon after touring.
Loads of places to eat etc.
I had a great night sleep.
And the room was very quiet even though its located on the main road.

Breakfast was amazing loads to eat.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matrix1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We came into the coffee shop off the street having circumnavigated the City wall. There were 8 of us. The staff were most accommodating & organised a table for us all. The menu is very comprehensive with both Asian (Chinese, Korean etc) & European dishes at reasonable prices. Some language problems but sorted with a smile & good grace. It was a great lunch & we would eat here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayDeeBee1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Awsome hotel, very nice and modern. Excellent service and super clean rooms. Very elegant and refined decoration. Breakfast buffet was the best and the restaurant is very nice. I did nejoy very much my stay and will stay again and recomend to everyone going to Xi'an.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ingridpereyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was fairly impressed by the class, ambience, and services of the hotel. Rooms are very decent in size, modern and clean. They also have a very nice hotel lobby bar that allows you to have a drink to unwind after full day sight-seeing. From time to time, they also have live music being played in the lobby.

One thing not to miss is the buffet breakfast. Of all the hotels I have visited in China, this is definitely in my top 10 list.

The location is also awesome, right in the middle of the city, not too far away from shopping, restaurants and attractions.

This is definitely a hotel I will return if I ever visit Xi'An again.

Room Tip: Great Location and Great Services
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheRadioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
1 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,688 in Xi'an
535 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,688 in Xi'an
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.7 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#4 of 2,688 in Xi'an
1,266 reviews
3.8 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,688 in Xi'an
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Noble Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Noble Hotel

Address: No.334 East Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#16 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $53 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Noble Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Noble Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Xi An
Grand Noble Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing