We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A "4.5 Star" Hotel that's Not English Friendly?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Noble Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Noble Hotel
Ranked #12 of 2,532 Hotels in Xi'an
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A "4.5 Star" Hotel that's Not English Friendly?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was included as part of my tour package with my trip to China bought through Affordable Asia. It was my least fovoriate of the 3 hotels included in my package. Basically, I was uncomfortable asking for anything in this hotel. I asked for an iron (yes a 4.5 star hotel does not have an iron in the room), and it took me 10 mins on the telephone to explain what an iron was. First they asked me to spell it, then describe its purpose. After 20 mins the iron arrives (which iron I needed 15 mins before it finally arrived), and the iron had white residue on it, which of course, I didn't see until the white film was ironed onto my favorite shirt, which is now ruined. I did not even tell the hotel about the mishap because it would have probably taken 1 hr to explain to them (since their level of english is about a 1 on a scale of 10).

Also, the bacon @ buffet breakfast don't eat it if you are from the US. Although well cooked, its not up to same US standards and will give u a tummy ache. Again, I didn't tell the hotel about this because how can you explain something so intricate to someone who does not speak an adquate level of English.

The gym equipment is from 1970's. There are only 2 treadmills & they were so old it was hard to run on them as you always felt you were running uphill.

This is not a hotel I would recommend. Stick with hotel chains like Doubletree, Marriot in China. Not a local brand, which I believe the Grand Noble may be It was too frustrating, and annoying, to ask for any help or service from the staff simply because their level of English speaking skills was nearly non-existent.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TurboKickChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    399
    118
    40
    8
See reviews for
138
321
46
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hotel is in a fantastic location 10 minutes walk to the bell tower in the centre of the city. Rooms are very large and nicely styled. Highlight of this hotel was the concierge, he was incredibly helpful sorting out a disagreement I had with a taxi driver, helping us to arrange trips, showing us where to go in the city and arranging transportation back to the airport. Most helpful person we met in our entire China trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassell28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
260 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is grand indeed ! The lobby is large with comfortable chairs and you can access wi-fi. The rooms are comfortable . We got 2 large queen beds . The bathroom is spacious too with a sparkling look. The restaurant serves continental food apart from thr local fare. The fried rice "hongkong " style was good and the portion was sufficient. The breakfast is awesome but if you want to save money you can buy croissants from the bakery and have it with coffee in your room.Besides there are a lot of eateries just round the corner .Be careful of the concierge boys who will want to sell expensive "day tours" and taxi rides. Don' buy curios from the hotel curio shop...very expensive. Go to the Muslim quarters for cheap buys and delicious "kababs". Buses and the metro is within walking distance....

Room Tip: Avoid the Smoking floors when selecting your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kakati_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hotel is in excellent central location with a lot to see in the immediate area/short taxi ride away. Lobby area very impressive with bar, chairs around a fire, chandelier etc. Stayed in twin room as travelling on a tour with a friend. The bathroom door was faulty and jammed shut - maintenance were very quick to respond and unjammed the door but couldn't lock for remainder of stay. Iron and board were provided quickly. Breakfast - good selection. Other members of the group had open plan bathrooms which did not work well for them so although had issues, happy with separate bathroom area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytime19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

The rooms of the hotel had been updated in recent years and I liked that. The bed was king sized and the sink area was open and divided the sleeping area from the shower and toilet making the room seem larger than it actually was. Both were separate so one person could be in the toilet while someone could be in the shower or using the sink. One complaint about our shower was the door was not sealed well and with European style shower heads (could be hand held or hanging) the outside floor flooded when the spray hit the door. Otherwise I liked the spaciousness for hanging some clothes I washed in the sink. (tip: bring along a travel clothesline).
Breakfasts consisted of Chinese food and western food like eggs, pastries, yogurt , and melon. I was able to get wi-fi in the lobby which had comfortable chairs.
Our group was able walk to the outdoor market area but it was a bit longer walk.
If I return to Xian, I would definitely stay there again. Around the corner from the hotel to the right was a little hole in the wall mom and pop noodle restaurant with pictures of their dishes on the wall. It was cheap and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WintersR4beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and i were part of a tour that stayed in Xian for 2 nights. The hotel was very inviting when we arrived. Overall very happy with the breakfast which was offered as part of our stay and very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebebear16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

The rooms were small but comfortable. Updated rooms, so everything was new and clean. But the studio had a weird bathroom layout. The shower opened up to the bed area, separated by the sink.
Breakfast was not included, which was disappointing. I requested 2 beds but told they had only the king. The website stated there was free wifi in-room, but we found out there was only free wifi in the lobby (LAN connection in-room only)
The real problem I had with the hotel was the custumer service. My friend and I did our research on how to get to the terracotta warriors, but wanted to double-check with the hotel. They told that it was not safe to take the bus, it would be over 2.5 hours, and we would have to take multiple buses. They proceeded to sell us their expensive tour package, which included shopping stops. When we directly asked which bus lines, the concierge contradicted the 3 websites we read and gave us the wrong numbers! We could tell that the young concierge boy was just telling us what he was trained to say. Sadly we felt they were trying to take advantage of 2 young female travelers.
We ended up going with our gut, and it ended up to be very easy and inexpensive. for those that are interested, Take any bus that goes to the north train station. Then look for tourist bus no.5 (306), east of the train station. There are only about 2 or 3 stops beforehand. Just take it all the way to the end. It is very cheap and Takes exactly 1 hour with no traffic. Maybe the hotel will read this review and be able to help future guests without taking advantage of them

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maphopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
3.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,532 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,532 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
0.9 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#19 of 2,532 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Noble Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Noble Hotel

Property: Grand Noble Hotel
Address: No.334 East Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#12 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#20 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Noble Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Noble Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Xi An
Grand Noble Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing