We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, some issues”
Review of Grand Noble Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Noble Hotel
Ranked #11 of 2,578 Hotels in Xi'an
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great location, some issues”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hotel is in excellent central location with a lot to see in the immediate area/short taxi ride away. Lobby area very impressive with bar, chairs around a fire, chandelier etc. Stayed in twin room as travelling on a tour with a friend. The bathroom door was faulty and jammed shut - maintenance were very quick to respond and unjammed the door but couldn't lock for remainder of stay. Iron and board were provided quickly. Breakfast - good selection. Other members of the group had open plan bathrooms which did not work well for them so although had issues, happy with separate bathroom area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytime19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    435
    127
    41
    9
See reviews for
144
349
49
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The rooms of the hotel had been updated in recent years and I liked that. The bed was king sized and the sink area was open and divided the sleeping area from the shower and toilet making the room seem larger than it actually was. Both were separate so one person could be in the toilet while someone could be in the shower or using the sink. One complaint about our shower was the door was not sealed well and with European style shower heads (could be hand held or hanging) the outside floor flooded when the spray hit the door. Otherwise I liked the spaciousness for hanging some clothes I washed in the sink. (tip: bring along a travel clothesline).
Breakfasts consisted of Chinese food and western food like eggs, pastries, yogurt , and melon. I was able to get wi-fi in the lobby which had comfortable chairs.
Our group was able walk to the outdoor market area but it was a bit longer walk.
If I return to Xian, I would definitely stay there again. Around the corner from the hotel to the right was a little hole in the wall mom and pop noodle restaurant with pictures of their dishes on the wall. It was cheap and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WintersR4beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and i were part of a tour that stayed in Xian for 2 nights. The hotel was very inviting when we arrived. Overall very happy with the breakfast which was offered as part of our stay and very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebebear16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The rooms were small but comfortable. Updated rooms, so everything was new and clean. But the studio had a weird bathroom layout. The shower opened up to the bed area, separated by the sink.
Breakfast was not included, which was disappointing. I requested 2 beds but told they had only the king. The website stated there was free wifi in-room, but we found out there was only free wifi in the lobby (LAN connection in-room only)
The real problem I had with the hotel was the custumer service. My friend and I did our research on how to get to the terracotta warriors, but wanted to double-check with the hotel. They told that it was not safe to take the bus, it would be over 2.5 hours, and we would have to take multiple buses. They proceeded to sell us their expensive tour package, which included shopping stops. When we directly asked which bus lines, the concierge contradicted the 3 websites we read and gave us the wrong numbers! We could tell that the young concierge boy was just telling us what he was trained to say. Sadly we felt they were trying to take advantage of 2 young female travelers.
We ended up going with our gut, and it ended up to be very easy and inexpensive. for those that are interested, Take any bus that goes to the north train station. Then look for tourist bus no.5 (306), east of the train station. There are only about 2 or 3 stops beforehand. Just take it all the way to the end. It is very cheap and Takes exactly 1 hour with no traffic. Maybe the hotel will read this review and be able to help future guests without taking advantage of them

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maphopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Well located, the rooms are a bit tired and our shower did have bare wires hanging from the ceiling but overall, it was a decent, comfortable, and clean place to stay for a few days while in Xi'an. Room service was very good and breakfast was okay amid the flashing, neon lights of the dining room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrowAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Grand Noble has lived up to expectations. Close to the Bell Tower, it is centrally located and perfect for visitors to the city. The hotel is clean, service is prompt and friendly, and the beds hard are hard but comfy. The breakfast buffet offered both Chinese and Western cuisine. The fitness centre was small and Inadequately equipped but generally facilities are well staffed and maintained. A pool would have been nice as it is hot, hot, hot! We had a little trouble accessing the wi-fi at first but otherwise our group has enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Try to see Xian at night - this walled city is absolutely breathtaking on approach as the wall is lit up. You can also walk to the wall from the hotel during the day (about 15 minutes) and walk or bike on the city wall - well worth it. This hotel was in a great location and was more than adequate for our brief two nights in Xian on our China Spree tour.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
3.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,578 in Xi'an
587 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,578 in Xi'an
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
3.8 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,578 in Xi'an
425 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Noble Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Noble Hotel

Property: Grand Noble Hotel
Address: No.334 East Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#10 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Noble Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Noble Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Xi An
Grand Noble Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing