We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of Bell Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bell Tower Hotel
Ranked #52 of 2,603 Hotels in Xi'an
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

You get what you pay for. It's not the best if you are used to a particular standard but the people are great very friendly and helpful. It wasn't what I was expecting the room s very small and old but gives you a taste of china. Wifi is free but Only works in lobby. Although I have given this a low rating I should stress there isn't anything wrong with the hotel it's probably a 2 star hotel and I would have liked something a little more upmarket . It's an okay choice.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kemi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    414
    265
    87
    30
See reviews for
124
195
54
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is the hotel to stay, right in front the is the Bell Tower and a 2 minutes walk is the Drum Tower. At night the illumination give a nice view of the place. Also there is a lot of restaurant close by. The wall is at 20 Yuan by rickshaw or taxi or a 30 minutes walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Of the 5 hotels we stayed in while in China, this was by far the worst! We understand that the location might be excellent, but if you are on a tour with a guide and leaving the area anyhow, do not stay here. On the other hand, if location is your main goal, you probably can tough out the HARD small beds and tiny room. We arrived in the dark and could not get the lights turned on. Finally got half the room lit up, but never did get the air to work. To be fair, the rooms were clean and the water pressure in the shower was good, so if that is all that's important to you, then that is what you can expect.

Room Tip: From what we understand, choose a room overlooking the Bell Tower if possible. Personally, I'd r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonandVonAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Xi'an hotels

upminster
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed 3 nights after Easter this year. Unbeatable location. We whole hotel looked dated & in need updating. We were turned away from breakfast restaurant, even we would pay for it! We stayed at the back of the hotel because it is a lot quieter. The front of the hotel is the main flow of traffic, but you get the most fantastic view of the Bell Tower, Looking magnificent day and night. The nearby area are busy day & night. The area behind the Drum Tower, the Great Mosque of Xi'an is the area with the night market and the endless of food stalls. Try bike ride along the city wall. Ideally staying for 4 days to see everything. I would love to make a return visit.

Room Tip: Batter quality hotels nearby, none beat it for location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpinoUpminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Best thing about this hotel is the location. Make sure you get a room overlooking the Bell Tower. It is fascinating to watch the traffic moving round the Tower without colliding. At night the Tower lights up and provides a lovely view from the bedroom.
Unfortunately the rooms and corridors do smell of smoke although non smoking rooms. Rooms are OK and some have been recently refurbished although they had missed out the bathroom in ours which was a bit decrepid looking. We had a fridge, hairdryer, tea and coffee facilities, a desk, 2 armchairs and English 3 pin sockets. Dressing gown and slippers provided as well. TV has chinese only programmes. Two 350 ml bottles of water provided on a complimentary basis replaced each day. Drinking the tap water is not advised! Water can be purchased through the minibar for £1 but outside of the hotel for 20 pence.
Lobby of hotel a huge empty space with very limited seating area. There is a lobby bar at the far end - not very attractive and expensive. Wi Fi allegedly available free in lobby but I had no luck with it. Reception staff not the best. If it wasn't for the location and view I would probably not recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Bell Tower not Drum Tower. Upgrades are not too expensive and you will get quite a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisatholly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were faced with the choice of staying in a western-brand hotel in the western 'enclave' area of Xi'an, or to stay somewhere more central. We took the latter option, and it worked out great.

First the location: our room faced the Bell Tower just across the road. Indeed, at night with the curtains open, the Bell Tower was such a spectacular sight that we hardly needed to turn on the room lights. Just great. You are also 5 minutes walk from the Drum Tower and the Muslim Quarter food markets. Subway right next door. You really could not have a better location in Xi'an.

The hotel is a government hotel, so they'll want to know where you've been previously and where you're going next -- same as the info you'll have supplied when you applied for your Chinese visa. The plus-side to being a govt hotel is that the pricing is amazing. We took a deluxe room with view, and it had a separate lounge area and was plenty big enough. And it cost next to nothing. Yeah, the room is a tad tired but we've stayed in *way* worse at far higher prices all around the world. Unless you are particularly precious, this place is fine. Breakfasts are not amazing but completely adequate. And cost something like $8.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a deluxe room with view, or a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waimate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The Bell Tower Hotel is bang smack in the middle of Xi'an. It looks out on the Bell Tower and is about a five minute walk from the wonderful Muslim Markets and the Drum Tower. The rooms are stock standard western style clean and spacious and it is very much a western experience with a good variety of Chinese and Western food for breakfast. Also a very short distance, 300m, to the Airport Shuttle stop.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kokodachic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.7 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#38 of 2,603 in Xi'an
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#32 of 2,603 in Xi'an
338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#14 of 2,603 in Xi'an
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,603 in Xi'an
878 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
1.4 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Tower Hotel

Property: Bell Tower Hotel
Address: No.110 South Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#24 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#44 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bell Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bell Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Xi An
Bell Tower Hotel Xian
Bell Tower Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing