We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for Xi'an”
Review of Bell Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bell Tower Hotel
Ranked #54 of 2,616 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed here for one night with a friend while seeing the sights in Xi'an. The room was decent with two twin beds. Our room faced the traffic circle which was great fun to watch. There was a small balcony off of the room. It was not large enough to sit on but standing there and looking over the city was nice. The bathroom was fine, if a little dingy.

The service at the hotel was great. English was spoken by everyone that we interacted with and all people were helpful. We had a problem with our toilette and after it was reported to the front desk it was promptly fixed.

We booked a tour through one of the travel agencies on the second floor. It was fine. We were told we were getting a guide but we really got a driver who did not accompany us into the sights.

The hotel is in a great location, near the Muslim Quarter, Drum and Bell Towers, a bunch of shopping, tons of restaurants, and a few blocks from the city wall.

If I was looking for a standard room in Xi'an, I would stay here again. No problems at all. I just wasn't wowed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sundinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
There are newer reviews for Bell Tower Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 918 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel earlier this month and we were really satisfied with the service and accommodation we got. Contrary to what many people say, the front desk ladies spoke English very well. We did not have any problem at all from check in to check out. Booked in the internet for a cheap room, but we were "upgraded" when we arrived and given a corner room on the 6th floor which have an open balcony! The view was facing the drum tower to the left and the Bell tower to the right. Absolutely amazing view especially at night. Yes you can occasionally hear the honks of the cars below but it is minimal. Bus stop is also just on the side of the hotel where you can take the bus to the airport (timed interval), and other buses around the city. Location was really great, walking distance to the Muslim Quarter. McDonalds, KFC, Starbucks and other food stores just around the corner. Couldn't ask for more! Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: ask for corner rooms with balcony and facing the road, it has a really nice view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nino Ruel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel itself is a little old. The beds are a bit on the hard side. The breakfast buffett is very varied and plentyful in both chinese and western dishes. Staff is helpful. The best part though is the location, out of the window one looks straight at the bell tower, a main city attraction and beautifully illuminated at night. The ancient city wall is within walking distance. (HINT: rent a bicycle on top of the wall). There is a great street market close by, where we actually ate one of our best meals from a street vendor.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourist1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Really nice and helpfull staff. The hotel is situated in the very center of town, and you can easily get around to some of the main attractions. Close to the city wall, the grand mosque, shopping and nice restaurants. Not that you need them, since the breakfast is sooo good and big, that after that you hardly need to eat for the rest of the day :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gt11Cesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Whilst certainly not bad, the hotel is dated but the location in the center of town does go some way to compensating for this. It is situated next to a major intersection wh9ch is crossed by accessing a tunnel under the road which is very well thought out.

Breakfast was part of the accommodation deal ad they were fine. We had one evening meal in the restaurant and this was made difficult by the staff having no English and me no Mandarin.

A great base to explore from, Terracotta Warriors etc

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z_FNQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

After driving up from Bangkok via Cambodia and Laos with Dragoman Overland my wife and i were ready to be spoiled. The Bell Tower Hotel in Xian did this superbly. We had enough cold rice porridge , dumplings and warm watery soy milk to last a lifetime so the mega western style breakfast at the Bell Tower was amazing. Staff were polite and helpful. Our front room had a small balcony overlooking the never ending people parade on the streets below us. The hotel is surrounded with interesting places within walking distance. After nearly 2 months " on the road " this was a magic haven!

Room Tip: Front room overlooking the Bell Tower.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricD_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Bell Tower Hotel is right in the middle of the city, fantastic location, quick walk to the shopping centres, city walls and caligraphy market. We walked into a impressive foyer, and we were greeted by sweet little gold fishes frolicking in a huge porcelain bowl. There were very fine 'antiques' in all the public areas but once you step into the small lifts, the rooms tell a completely different story. They were definitely not cleaned, dust bunnies and hair in every corner, chipped furniture, mouldy bathrooms, musty corridors, no tv reception,....and there was no room safe. When we asked for one, the girl just carried one out from an unoccupied room! Size of the rooms was the smallest of all the 6 hotels we stayed in China. Breakfast was basic.
Xian is a beautiful city, the people are friendly and helpful, the terracotta army is just amazing but bring a thick scarf and vicks when you go to the washrooms.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.7 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#37 of 2,616 in Xi'an
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#32 of 2,616 in Xi'an
342 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#14 of 2,616 in Xi'an
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.9 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,616 in Xi'an
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Tower Hotel

Address: No.110 South Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#22 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#45 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $53 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bell Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bell Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Xi An
Bell Tower Hotel Xian
Bell Tower Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing