We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, passable room, reasonable prices”
Review of Bell Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bell Tower Hotel
Ranked #49 of 2,589 Hotels in Xi'an
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location, passable room, reasonable prices”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This hotel is adjacent to the Bell Tower, which is the landmark marking the center of Xi'an, and within the city wall that surrounds downtown. It's also pretty much a quick jaunt across the underground walkway to the Muslim market. If you're taking the airport bus in, the terminus at Melody Hotel is just a five minute or less walk down the same side of the street.

The hotel breakfast buffet is 60RMB (~10USD) and includes some traditional items like porridges with condiments (ok), egg station (ok), and western options such as cereal (ok), and breads (terrible). Another perhaps better option is the bustling breakfast stalls on the street next to the Melody Hotel where they have stuffed buns and soy milk (with an english menu you can point at), and some local fried breads (I highly suggest trying them but perhaps passing on the lettuce they add in). McDonalds and Starbucks are also across the street from the hotel.

Room was clean, beds and towels ok. Bathroom left a bit to be desired so I wore flip flops. Did not have a problem with the AC as others have mentioned despite being there in July. Housekeeping tends to open the window, so check that they're closed if you're having issues. Two bottles of boutique branded water are 10RMB/piece but there are two free bottles in the fridge and they are restocked daily. Free internet is a little spotty, rooms have ethernet access and the lobby has wifi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBGSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    414
    263
    87
    30
See reviews for
123
194
54
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Cleanliness low in rooms especially the passages. Terrible smell in the rooms and passages. The room and bathroom interiors are old and tired looking. Need a facelift. The Staff is friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel location is very central with lots of shopping and restaurants around.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGPNQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had 2 rooms both overlooking the bell tower, this was great as we saw various people ringing the bell with what seemed to be a tree trunk, the hotel is nicely situated for the Terracotta Warriors
and the rooms are very large and comfortable the meals were on buffet style with a wide choice each day

Room Tip: Try for room overlooking the bell tower which is in the cetre of a roundabout
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robtorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Started Ok when we arrived, yet as it was a working visit, there was a big problem being hooked up to the Internet. Seems they don’t check some of the rooms and Inet access. So we spent the first 2 hours (8pm-10pm) hoping from room to room trying to find one that had a working connection (and just the connection as our email servers are not blocked in China, as many of the social media sites are).

The bathrooms really need updating, the grout in the tiles is mostly gray, except for where the water hits, there it's mostly black & looking like mold. Rooms on the front side are loud, so above the parking area is nicer for a restful night... but be careful as wake-up calls to other rooms can be heard.

1 annoying item was when people knocked on doors at late hours trying to sell cans of coca-cola. Even if you say "no" and sent them away, this ends up on your final hotel bill. Somehow they have not figured out that these items need more than just someone saying this to them, a signature on a bill would be a good to have.

Another item is that we bought bottles of water at a store near the Muslim Quarter for 2 Yuan apiece, instead of the 10 Yuan that the hotel charges. The hotel still tried to charge us for 9 bottles of water. We protested, and all H*** broke loose, with the manager basically saying we were liars and there was nothing but to pay.
We stood our ground and i the end they backed down.

I didn't think that the breakfast wasn't worth the 60 yuan as I had better and more of a selection in Chengdu for 20 yuan. - careful with the floors.. we had many instances of sticky shoes as they didn't seem to mop the floor that often.

As a big plus, the Bell Tower Abalone Restaurant was scrumptious and quite a delight to eat at,and worth the prices for both food and atmosphere were excellent!

If you want location, it is excellent as you can pick up the #7 bus to go to the wall, or east to the Emperor's Park for 1 Yuan; 2 Yuan if it is a K7 and they have air conditioning.

If the bathrooms are fixed, and the staff learns a little about hospitality and how to get communicate better in a western language, German, English, French.. anything else,
it could be a very nice place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Xi'an hotels

Gold coast australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Get a room overlooking the bell tower! Old hotel with big rooms and tiny old bathroom, but stay here for the location. A window in the room opens to outside so you can check the temperature and enjoy the city sounds. OK breakfast has room for improvement. Easy walk to all city sights.

Room Tip: get a room facing bell tower - deluxe room, i think
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickandFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The hotel is in a good spot, and the staff are friendly & helpful. They have a great Travel Desk in the Hotel on the 2nd floor. The main areas are Ok, but the room was a little 'brown' & although it was clearly marked as a 'non smoking room' it had clearly had had people smoking in it, but I have found that this is a bit of a problem in China. I had a room at the back, which was quiet but with a view of the car park.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SB H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The best location in Xi'an, just beside the bell tower.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#40 of 2,589 in Xi'an
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#31 of 2,589 in Xi'an
335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,589 in Xi'an
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,589 in Xi'an
868 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.8 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Tower Hotel

Property: Bell Tower Hotel
Address: No.110 South Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#22 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#41 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bell Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bell Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Xi An
Bell Tower Hotel Xian
Bell Tower Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing