We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit disappointing.”
Review of Dynasty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dynasty Hotel
Ranked #632 of 2,590 Hotels in Xi'an
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bit disappointing.”
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Shuttle bus to Bell Tower from airport on arrival was ok but challenging to get a taxi to hotel from there. Grabbed cab from front of hotel to go to airport on departure (125 yuan). Staff fairly unfriendly and only one I met at Reception spoke a little English. I requested Garden View (tip froom Trip Advisor) and that was great. Was on ground floor level. Lovely views of the city wall lit up at night. Room was nice and spacious, 2 beds, although single booking. Located in not so nice part of town. I walked a lot but nothing much to see in this direction. Taxi to more interesting areas. Did tour of the warriors and that was great. Xian is a better looking city than Beijing but the people aren't as nice in my experience over just a few days. Very dusty place (like Beijing) though, probably the season. Polution pretty awful here also. Restaurant left a lot to be desired, a few tour groups in there and they seemed content enough. Guess it was pretty good hotel for the cost but needs some improvements.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freedom-seeker111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    51
    34
    7
    5
See reviews for
4
18
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Harrow
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as part of our tour of China with Travelsphere. The Dynasty Hotel might be old but it's beautiful inside with lots of roomy public areas. We were in room 1316 on the third floor and it was quite roomy although the bathroom was small. There were two large beds in the room, both hard. There was no room safe. As in most Chinese hotels there was a toothbrush and toothpaste for each guest as well as a comb and shower cap. Toiletries were also provided. A small bottle of water is provided for each guest daily. There was tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
We had dinner in the hotel. It was the same setup as in the local restaurants with a Lazy Susan and ten persons to a table. There was little difference in the selection of food on offer and there was no soup. There was a distinct shortage of meat on offer. The Chinese are not known in the west for their desserts and there is very little on offer in that department. For most of the two weeks we spent on the mainland we had Ice Cream once and Watermelon on each and every other day. It gets boring after a time.
Breakfast was the same as in all Chinese hotels. Eggs, Eggs and more eggs with Streaky Bacon and steamed Sausages. There was of course a selection of Chinese goodies on offer. They have mastered the art of good coffee, which was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Ask for a room facing the garden. Ours wasn't and had a drainy smell and unpleasant outlook. Dining room carpet was disgusting. Bedding and room clean enough though old. Area around it was not very nice though Xi'an itself was.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Overall I liked Dynasty Hotel. The rooms were fair. The service was good. They exchanged USD for almost bank rates. The people at the counter were pleasant and spoke fair English. It was a 7 minute walk to the South Walls. Had a nice balcony overlooking the walls and the garden. At night the walls were lit, and had a nice view. Overall I would stay here again if I wanted to stay outside of the city walls.

To go to the terracotta soldiers. Take a taxi (15minutes) to the Xi'an rail station. Facing the rail station, head to your right and look for Green Bus #306. #16Yuan for about 1 hour trip. Bus was clean and not crowded. Best way to go.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacalif11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.6 mi away
Gudu Wenhua Hotel
Gudu Wenhua Hotel
#24 of 2,590 in Xi'an
622 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,590 in Xi'an
631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#12 of 2,590 in Xi'an
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#14 of 2,590 in Xi'an
480 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,590 in Xi'an
440 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dynasty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dynasty Hotel

Property: Dynasty Hotel
Address: No.55 West Huancheng Road, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710082, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #632 of 2,590 Hotels in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dynasty Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dynasty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dynasty Hotel Xi An
Dynasty Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing