We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Xi'an Hotel
Ranked #16 of 2,594 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Aachen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, bad location”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

After a check in without any problems, we got into a really spacious room. The cleanliness was OK, the furniture a bit old and rugged. Not in any way bad, but not quite what you expect from a Sheraton (for their price). All in all very decent, though. The staff was friedly, we had no problem with noise in the hotel. Breakfast buffet was excellent.

The big catch about this hotel, though, is the location. The hotel is about 15 min by taxi away from the "old city", i.e., the part inside the walls, where all the attractions, markets etc are. Nothing to be reached by foot. Also, the area immediately surrounding the hotel is all but nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Festus31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sheraton Xian Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Greetings Festus31,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your experience during your stay in our hotel. We are apologized for the noise that casued by our swimming pool constraction, and appreciate for your understanding of this issue. The swimming pool is expected to be finished at the end of this year, next time when you come back to our hotel, you will enjoy the fantastic swimming pool that we had.

Once again, thank you for you greet feedback and please give us the opportunity to welcome you back soon again.

Life is better when shared.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    395
    142
    24
    8
See reviews for
82
110
31
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Good. yes, that is the word. It is definitely not great. The food is good, the staff are good...the lounge is good...good enough and reasonably enough priced. We got upgraded so that was nice, but the nonsmoking room had definitely had a smoker in it. No swimming pool (yet). They do have nice business conference facilities. Surprisingly large capacity for conferences and pretty well done.

I'd go back to this hotel. It is good and the other ones I stayed in were not.

Room Tip: if your room smells smoky (check the pillows) have them change out the pillows, sheets and spread...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fracmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Greetings fracmeister,

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We are indeed delighted to hear you had a good time in Sheraton Xian Hotel.
We apologize for the upgrade non-smoking room issues, and thanks telling us about this. The swimming pool is now under construction, and expect to be finished at the end of this year, next time when you come back to our hotel, you will enjoy the fantastic swimming pool that we had.

Once again, thank you for the great feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Life is better when shared.

Warmest regards,
Sheraton Xian Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herentals, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights to visit some family. What I can say is that it's worth to book your room at the executive floors. In that case you get access to the private lounge where food and drinks are served the whole day. Very nice that the personell speak english very well ... and I have to say that's a big advantage in China! One small disadvantage about the hotel is that it's located a bit 'far' (10-15 minutes by taxi) from the city centre but as taxi fares are very cheap in China, the location shouldn't be that problem!

Room Tip: Rooms @ the executive floors are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mathias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Greetings Mathias B ,

We thank you for staying with us, we are very pleased to learn that you had a great stay. Also, thank you for letting me know how impressed you were with the service you received - this is how you should feel warm and connected at Sheraton Xian Hotel. We are also very glad to know that you enjoyed spending time in our club lounge which was renovated last year and provide much private place for our guest.

All of us here look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Xian.

Life is Better When Shared.

Warmest regards,
Sheraton Xian Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Stay for an night and use their business centre to hold internal staff meetings..........all the staff are perfect and very well mannered could not help enough.
The room was great and manage to sleep very well.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank gchjlfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Overall nothing bad to report, nice easy hotel for visiting the sites, good quality, but nothing special either. If you get a good rate it's worth considering.

But, the Chinese restaurant is definitely worth a visit, a great experience, great food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Global Nomad I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Greetings Global Noma d,

We thank you for your continuous support for SPG membership and appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. All of us here are very happy to hear that you had a great stay and this is how it should feel at Sheraton.

Do stay with us again on your next business or leisure trip. We look forward to welcoming you back.


Life is Better When Shared.

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I was in Sheraton Xi'an in March 2012 and I must tell that it was a perfect business hotel. I got upgraded to their premium category room. Rooms were nice and spacious. Very prompt and courteous staff. Lounge access was there with happy hours. Excellent choice of food and beverages. I was able to do all meetings in the lounge area without being disturbed.

Live band performing at the bar near the lobby was great. They even have a convenient store in the hotel for emergencies.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aditya_manaksia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Greetings Aditya_manaksia,

We thank you for staying with us, we are very pleased to learn that you had a great stay. Also, thank you for letting me know how impressed you were with the service you received - this is how you should feel warm and connected at Sheraton Xian Hotel. We are also very glad to know that you enjoyed spending time in our club lounge which was renovated last year and provide much private place for our guest.

All of us here look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Xian.

Life is Better When Shared.

Warmest regards,
Sheraton Xian Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I loved this hotel.
The staff was so pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had.
Xi'an was one of the highlights of my trip. A vacation to China is not complete without seeing the Terracotta Warriors and Sheraton Xi'an is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaniR000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Greetings DaniR000,

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We are indeed delighted to hear you had a fantastic time in Sheraton Xian Hotel.
We agree with you that our breakfast buffet does have a wide selection and we are glad to know that you had enjoyed the breakfast served.

Once again, thank you for the great feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.


We believe life is better when shared.

Warmest regards,
Sheraton Xian Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel
2.8 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,594 in Xi'an
480 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,594 in Xi'an
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#4 of 2,594 in Xi'an
1,171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
#6 of 2,594 in Xi'an
1,484 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Xi'an Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Xi'an Hotel

Property: Sheraton Xi'an Hotel
Address: No.262 Fenghao East Road, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710077, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#12 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#15 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#30 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Xi'an Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Xi'an Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Xi'An Hotel China/Shaanxi
Xi An Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing