We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Shangri la...”
Review of Grand Park Xian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Park Xian
Ranked #18 of 2,558 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not the Shangri la...”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent 2 nights here with our 4 children, whilst touring Xi'an. The hotel is in a fabulous location, located just outside the south wall, the rooms are clean and staff are very friendly. The breakfast buffet was average. This hotel has a very stuffy, smoky lobby which as a non smoker is a huge turn off, especially after staying in true 5 star hotels. The smell of smoke combined with heat makes it extremely stuffy especially as it all rises to the above floors as it is an open hotel. The lobby is attractive to look at with a lovely pianist playing @ night time, but unless you enjoy passive smoking, don't bother. Don't even get me started in the wifi!!! It does not work. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GouFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    243
    82
    13
    1
See reviews for
68
74
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syosset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My family and I returned to this hotel after a previous stay. To compensate for not having our rooms ready during check-in, the front desk staff gave us all complimentary drink coupons while we waited. The drink coupons were good for one free soft drink, coffee, tea, or local beer at the lobby. We presented the drink coupons and were shown a menu of the drinks that were included. We ordered one ginger ale and a hot chocolate.

When we got up to head to our rooms, the wait staff told us that the drinks were not included as part of the coupons. I discussed the issue with one front desk staff member who admitted that we should not be charged, however, another staff member cut him off and insisted that ginger ale is not a soft drink (despite being listed as one on the menu) and that hot chocolate was not a covered beverage. Then that staff member called the server and the manager over.

They proceeded to gang up on me and insist that I was wrong and would have to pay. Their tone was arrogant and aggressive, especially since I had never asked for the drink coupons in the first place. The issue was resolved with the staff threatening to charge my room for the drinks and proceeding to walk away.

Overall this encounter really soured my experience at Grand Park, which is located in a central location and has the potential to be a great hotel.

Please note that the WIFI is also extremely unreliable.

I would caution travelers to think twice about staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJie, Director of Sales at Grand Park Xian, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Park Xian as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Xian and for taking the time to share your feedback. We at the Grand Park Xian were very diappointed to read your review and would like to extend our sincere apologies for your disappointment and the inconvenience caused.

We have noted your constructive feedback on the range of application for our complementary drink coupon and WIFI problem and sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding during the communication. We will certainly review the process to seek for any improvement.

We take all guest comments very seriously and once again, we apologize for the inconveniences you had on your last stay. We look forward to having another privilege of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Thank You!

Director of Sales
Lily Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

For all its attractiveness and good location , this location provided satisfactory service, an barely average western breakfast, and WIFI that only worked while standing outside the room on the open corridor that circled the court yard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moneychanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontenay le fleury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Hotel well located in Xi'an, closed to the main door to the old city.....
Room confort as expected for such hotel, but breakfast quite below than expected for this hotel level, furthermore, dont take cognac at the bar, it's blended with water....so, it is expensive to drink water with a small test of cognac (sold as Remy martin XO) we expect that this practice is quite common in this hotel.........

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I arrived on an early morning train from Wuhan. When we arrived at the hotel it was around 5am. Normally they do not let guests check-in until 6am, but seeing we were tired and in need of our room, they got us in straight away. We were taken back by the grandeur of the interio, and our room was fantastic. Staff were helpful and friendly, and while we didn't need to use english, they were quick to speak in English to us. The location is great, with easy access to the city wall and subway. I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aktau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed there for about one week, had a conference there. I like only location of the hotel in a city center.
Dislike atmosphere inside the hotel, rooms, breakfast were poor. It's like little old hotel. Need some modernizing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Positives: Good location near the city wall, and only took about a twenty minute walk to get to the center bell tower. Clean room, with updated materials. My bed was enormous... like two queen beds pushed together.

Negatives: The breakfast was pretty poor, inclusive of a yogurt that was past its date. As of late March, 2013, there was construction going on around the hotel in three different directions, and it was noisy. It also made it a little dangerous walking around the hotel... more so than the usual pedestrian danger gauntlet that walking in a Chinese city entails.

Also, not that the hotel can control this, but there was a ton of dust in the air from the surrounding mountains during our visit that gave just about everyone in our group a hearty cough. Bring a mask...

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank franksbeans2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJie, Director of Sales at Grand Park Xian, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing (Grand Park Xian) as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Xian and taking the time to share your reedback. We at the Grand Park Xian were very disappointed to read your review and would like to extend our sincere apologies for your disappointment and the inconvenience caused.

We have noted your constructive feedback on our breakfast quality and we certainly review the process to seek for improvement.

In order to increase the Xian City Image and ease traffic congestion, the municipal construction department will continue upgrading city infrastructure in Xian, and several of construction sites will be surround our hotel.

We take all guest comments very seriously and once again, we apologies for the inconveniences you had on your last stay. We look forword to having another provilege of welcoming you back agin in the near future.

Lily Lee
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
3.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,558 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,558 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,558 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
3.4 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,558 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Xian

Property: Grand Park Xian
Address: No.12 Xi Duan,Huancheng South Road, Xi'an 710068, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#15 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#16 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#31 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Xian 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 298-room Grand Park Xian boasts a prime location in the heart of the ancient capital city of Xi’an. Showcasing an imposing facade that evoke the grandeur of an ancient palace, the hotel offers 298 luxurious rooms & suites and is within walking distance of main tourist attractions, restaurants and parks. In an ideal location facing the south gate of the ancient City Wall, guests can look forward to grand views of one of the most majestic parts of the long-standing City Wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Park Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Park Xian Hotel Xi`An
Hotel Grand Park
Grand Park Xi An
Grand Park Xian China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing