We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good But Far From Wall City and Airport”
Review of The Westin Xian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Xian
Ranked #4 of 2,658 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at the Westin in the first week of Dec 2013 for 4 nights. The rooms were well appointed and since we had 2 children, the twin rooms fitted us nicely. Breakfast was good and well set up, both continental and Chinese choices were accounted for.

However, transport is a problem if you plan to spend time in the walled city, firstly, there were not many taxis and they didn't want to comply by the meter charges. We were in Xian during the low season, i imagine it should be worse during peak session. Taxi ride is an hour to the airport and 30 minutes to the walled city. There is a newly completed park and mall that is a good alternative if you do not intend to go out to the walled city.

Be careful when you get the concierge to get you a taxi as they will request for a larger "airport" taxi to take you. You will pay a premium of RMB80 to RMB100 on top of the normal RMB160 that it takes to get to the airport via the normal yellow and green taxis.

Overall, it has kept up with the Westin expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pablon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinXian, Director of Rooms at The Westin Xian, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologise for not having lived up to your expectations during your recent stay. Your comments have been shared with the related departments, and we have also reviewed our information provided by our Concierge to ensure consistency throughout the team. We hope we will have another opportunity to bring you a truly revitalizing Westin experience with the many well-being programs that we have designed.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with more renewing experiences!

Be well,

Robert Pattenden
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 472 of 732 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our arrival to X'ian did not get to a good start with problems at the airport and taxis etc, so our expectations were getting lower and lower as we neared X'ian. What a welcome relief it was to arrive at Westin and be greeted by friendly, clean, professional people. The check in was smooth and the ambiance of the hotel was lovely. Our room was much larger and more well appointed that we expected. I would have to say it was one of the nicest hotel rooms we have stayed in, and it was definitely the most comfortable bed we have slept in in Asia. The evening meals and breakfast were a good mix of Asian and Western foods. The concierge service for sightseeing planning etc was without fault. They were very helpful, spoke good English and were very friendly. I would have to say the two best things about this hotel were the bed and the concierge staff but overall the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpbpkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
西安威斯汀大酒店, Director of Rooms at The Westin Xian, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Xian and we truly appreciate your comments concerning the hotel facilities and service. We are very excited to know that you have enjoyed our facilities and service and will be sure to cascade your comments through to our team members! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with more renewing experiences!

Be well,

Robert Pattenden
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I don't stay at Westin properties very often, but only because I'm more of a Marriott and Hilton guy. For this business trip, the Westin was the conference hotel, so the choice was easy. My room was very spacious and elegant, with an equally impressive bath. Breakfast was very impressive as well, with a aide range of Western and Asia dishes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
西安威斯汀大酒店, Director of Rooms at The Westin Xian, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

We are delighted to hear that you had a refreshing experience in our hotel. The team and I are delighted to receive such a positive review! We really hope our service exceeded your expectations and made your stay with us a truly memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with more renewing experiences!

Be well,

Robert Pattenden
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Having revisited in December, the hotel seems have improvement every time, it has a very nice decoration and a new GSM from Korea. The staff are very helpful and carry smiles everywhere.

The room has always been good with the Heavenly bed and there are not much complain about the Westin standard.

I also find the that breakfast and dinner buffet has become much better and I did enjoy my stay in Westin. It could be only my choice in Xian (unless it's full house).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joejoejoehk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
西安威斯汀大酒店, Director of Rooms at The Westin Xian, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Xian and we truly appreciate your comments concerning the hotel facilities and service. We are very excited to know that you have enjoyed our facilities and service and will be sure to cascade your comments through to our team members! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with more renewing experiences!

Be well,

Robert Pattenden
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this Hotel and liked very much. It was my husband's birthday so they made him a cake and sang "Happy Birthday" which was a nice touch being so far away from home. They were genuinely friendly to us and we very much appreciated. The buffett was very good with plenty of food to suit all tastes. The bedroom was good and there was a lot of ammenities, It is true that some parts of the Hotel could have better lighting. The Hotel faces a beautiful park where we walked at night and felt completely safe. People asked to take pictures with us, which was a little bit strange for us but normal for them, but it all ended with laughs. So, we returned home also with lots of photos of Chinese people which is a nice souvenir from our trip. The Pagoda is magnificent and looked amazing with the lights.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariasilvestre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
西安威斯汀大酒店, Director of Rooms at The Westin Xian, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

We are delighted to hear that you had a refreshing experience in our hotel. The team and I are delighted to receive such a positive review! We really hope our service exceeded your expectations and made your stay with us a truly memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with more renewing experiences!

Be well,

Robert Pattenden
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed 2 nights, but this hotel
Is located in the best part of Xi'an, it's beautifull and their people are great. Loves the Lobby Bar of the hotel, if you go, ask for Sergio Silva, he is great and will take the time to maje sure you are having a great time, gice you directions and make sure you have the best experience staying at the hotel. Thanks Sergio!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank danogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
西安威斯汀大酒店, Director of Rooms at The Westin Xian, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

We are delighted to hear that you had a refreshing experience in our hotel. The team and I are delighted to receive such a positive review! We really hope our service exceeded your expectations and made your stay with us a truly memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with more renewing experiences!

Be well,

Robert Pattenden
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This Westin property is outstanding. Good location for tourists and shoppers. Rooms are clean. Tip for China travel - always check rooms first for recent smokers. We had no problems at this property. The buffet had a wide range of Chinese and western food. Nice pool and spa facilities in the basement. The concierge was helpful for organizing cars for touring and pick up from airport. The hotel offers cards for hotel location in Mandarin so there is no confusion for taxi drivers when you are returning to the property.

Room Tip: Check rooms first for previous smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenwiz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
西安威斯汀大酒店, Executive Assistant Manager at The Westin Xian, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

We are very glad that you had a refreshing experience in our hotel. The team and I are delighted to receive such a positive review! We really hope our service exceeded your expectations and made your stay with us a truly memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with more renewing experiences!

Be well,

Linda Li
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,658 in Xi'an
755 reviews
1 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,658 in Xi'an
504 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,658 in Xi'an
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
3.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
#6 of 2,658 in Xi'an
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Xian

Address: No.66 Ci'en Road, Qujiang New District, Xi'an 710061, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#1 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#39 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $110 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Xian 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in an exciting historic location, just steps from the Big Wild Goose Pagoda and Xian’s many cultural gems, as well as restaurants and an upscale shopping area. Guests also enjoy easy access to an array of multi-national companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Xian China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing