We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Business, Perfect for Fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Xian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Xian
Ranked #5 of 2,532 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great for Business, Perfect for Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Westin hotel is probably at the best location in town. Born and raise in Xi'an, I'm quite familiar with the area. On this business trip with my boss, I chose the Westin to impress my boss, and he was actually quite amazed by this hotel. Unlike most Westin hotels in China or the States, it does not look very business like, but with a lot of unique design and a feeling of a resort hotel.

We were both SPG members, so I got upgraded to a room with Pagoda view. It was fancy and spacious. Imagine every morning you open the windows and see the pagoda and the square. It does have a peaceful feeling to it. Bed was comfy. Bathroom was regular Westin with much more space. Lighting in the room was great as well.

However, the service could be better. My boss was living on the executive floor so he had a free breakfast at the lounge. The staff at the lounge was not as first class as the rooms. It felt like she was a little uncomfortable about her work and didn't know what to say when the guest would meet with important clients. I guess it's OK considering the hotel hadn't opened for long, but to make it perfect the staff may need some more training. It was similar to the front desk staff. The best property in town deserve the best service. Breakfast itself was just OK. The cook didn't really understand what was an omelet though.

Bottom line is we'll come back to this Westin next time, and I recommend this hotel to every traveler.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
西安威斯汀大酒店, Executive Assistant Manager at The Westin Xian, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Exzx,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

We’re very pleased to read your feedback on Trip Advisor, thank you for the compliment! At Westin, everything we do is designed to leave you with a sense of renewal. We will continue to improve associate service and bring you many more revitalising experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Be well,

Linda Li
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    144
    50
    10
    3
See reviews for
129
134
27
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. As others have noted the decor is very dark. The rooms were standard do not bother going to the lobby lounge if you want served. The staff were too busy chatting and texting to be bothered with customers. We had to leave our table twice to get service and we were only one of two tables occupied. Ok for a short stay.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the front which was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieBVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
西安威斯汀大酒店, Executive Assistant Manager at The Westin Xian, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear MaggieBVancouver,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!
Thank you for taking your time and posting your experiences on Trip Advisor. I am appreciative of your feedback and the details that you have given me will assist my operations in improving our eye for detail, our F&B team will improve their Service attitude and service consciousness, pay more attention to the guests needs.
I do apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the services that you experienced during your stay in our lobby lounge. Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Xian!

Be well,

Linda Li
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a flight and a drive from the airport that seemed to be as long as the flight. The taxi was arranged by hotel so we knew we would be getting to the correct place at the correct fare (we have had issues in China before). Upon arrival we were welcomed by both the concierge and the Director of Rooms. We were given a choice of getting into a room now or wait an hour to get into a suite. We were upgraded to a large suite and had access to the club (we are platinum). The suite was large with a gigantic bathroom with a separate bath and shower. Large towels and bathrobes with all kinds of amenities. The living room had a large book shelf and Nespresso maker for morning coffee. The bed large and comfy. While many complain about the lighting it is either "romantic" or dark depending on your point of view. The lighting is subdued in the hotel I will agree but where you read or in bed it was fine. We had a great view of the Goose pagoda as well. We had no issues with housekeeping checking in or out.
An absolute highlight for us was the museum attached to the hotel. A must see. A small collection of paintings from 2000 years ago to today.
The club was great. The breakfast was large with choices that we decided not to go to the restaurant. The hot items from Chinese to Western and the cold items from salmon to fruit were excellent. In the evening we had cocktails and appetizers/dinner. Again the food was great. The people in the lounge were friendly, welcoming us each day asking how we are and what we are doing/did and the service great.
The concierges were excellent as well. They arranged our Terracotta warrior guided trip to pointing out things to do. The location is across from the Wild Goose Pagoda which is very good however if you want to see the city walls you need a taxi or walk 20 minutes to the Metro.
I would definitely recommend the hotel

Room Tip: See if you can get a suite facing the Goose Pagoda
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wwtravelerRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
西安威斯汀大酒店, Executive Assistant Manager at The Westin Xian, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Wwtraveler Roche,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

It was great pleasure to hear your experience in our hotel. It is always wonderful to hear praise such as yours, as it gives real life example of service encounters. I will ensure that your comments are cascaded to our team appropriately.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon at The Westin Xian!

Be well,

Linda Li
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montvale, nj
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Westin Xian 
We were very disappointed with this Westin Hotel as we expect better from the Westin name. The room was very dreary looking because it had dark wood, drab paint, and a window that overlooked a deserted building. It was an interesting shower as there was no lip on the edge. The water didn't run over because it sloped down to a drain. However the edges appeared not to be clean, nor was the edge near the tub. The bathroom was divided into three parts which was a nice feature. One could use the toilet which was in a separate part, the vanity and sink, or the shower and have privacy. The bed was extremely comfortable in the narrow bedroom. Here also it appeared that the edges along the walls were not cleaned well. Overall this hotel does not get high grades. The best part of the hotel was its location which is very central to the tourist sites and a wonderful shopping mall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fromNY2NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
西安威斯汀大酒店, Executive Assistant Manager at The Westin Xian, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear FromNY2NJ,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

Thank you for taking your time to post your valuable comments in Trip Advisor, your feedback has been well received. Our housekeeping and engineering team will take necessary actions immediately and fix the levelling in the shower and the cleanliness around the edge of the bathtub that you have commented on.

We hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future again and do our best to exceed your expectations.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon at The Westin Xian!

Be well,

Linda Li
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A great location across from the Wild Goos Pagoda. Excellent views at night and good variety of restaurants. Service in the hotel was average at best and a little disappointing. We received inaccurate information about the opening hours of sights that we were trying desperately to see in the evening. If staff are trained better this hotel will meet the expectations of other Westin hotels worldwide.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
西安威斯汀大酒店, Executive Assistant Manager at The Westin Xian, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear M D,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

Thank you for taking your time and posting your experiences on Trip Advisor. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the sightseeing opening times that you experienced during your stay, and we will ensure that the information at our Concierge is reviewed and updated accordingly.

I wish to thank you for your valued comments and we sincerely hope that you will return to the Westin Xian again in the future.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon at The Westin Xian!

Be well,

Linda Li
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
568 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Xi'an whilst on an organised tour in June 2012. The hotel didn't appear to be "central" to the city centre.

The hotel was very new and the hotel's foyer floor was paved with an expensive "brick". It’s a special mud which apparently can take a person 2 years to finish a brick and it costs more than gold!

Getting to our room (on the 3rd floor) was an adventure as there was no logic to the numbering of the rooms in any order. One side of the corridor would read 3300 and the other 3600 and then even numbers were to the left and odd were to the right .. everything was out of sequence.

Our room was quite large, neat and clean – complete with large flat-screen TV, office desk and a bowl of fruit along with the usual amenities (bar fridge, nibbles, tea/coffee facilities). Beautiful big plush bed.

Bathroom was clinical looking but certainly a large area with bath and separate shower.

Our view overlooked a car park and water feature through to some high-rises in the far distance.

Free Wi-Fi was available - always a nice bonus!

Breakfast was at their “Seasonal Tastes” - a large dining room with a variety of food – both Eastern and Western. We were amused with their “fried tomatoes” which were tiny roma tomatoes and I guess they were “fried”.

Overall an upmarket, modern and clean hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
西安威斯汀大酒店, Executive Assistant Manager at The Westin Xian, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Brissy2,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

Thank you for taking your time to post your valuable comments in Trip Advisor, we trust you had a refreshing stay and we do hope we extend the unique Wetin service we are renownd for!

It is always wonderful to hear praise such as yours, as it gives real life examples of service encounters. I will ensure that your comments are cascaded to our team appropriately.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon at The Westin Xian!

Be well,

Linda Li
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, CT
Level Contributor
137 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013



This hotel has a fabulous location, right across from the Big Wild Goose Pagoda, and across the street from a shopping mall that is a site to behold, especially at night with the projections on the ceiling!
As Sheraton Gold Members we were upgraded to an upper level large room, but denied Executive Lounge privileges ( which Marriott did give us!)
The hotel has a Zen quality to it, quiet, dark with objects placed sparingly around the lobby. Our room had every needed amenity, generously supplied. The bathroom was huge with a weird slate shower (possibility of slipping?)
The dark slate of the bath, combined with dark walls and dark brown carpeting was not a "cheerful" sight, otherwise this is a fine hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
西安威斯汀大酒店, Executive Assistant Manager at The Westin Xian, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear VEGO,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Westin Xian Hotel.

Our hotel designed by Shanghai-based Neri and Hu Design Research Office. As the hotel is the brand’s first hotel with its own museum, the Westin Xian is a modern bridge between the past and present.

Our guestrooms and suites are some of the largest in Xian, and notable for their soothing earthy tones and natural materials. Rich, dark wood floors complement the modern furnishings and tie in with the Big Wild Goose Pagoda, which is visible through the rooms’ long, narrow windows.

I hope above information which I shared with you can help you to know more about our hotel.

I wish to thank you for your valued comments and please rest assured that we will continue to bring you many more renewing experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon at The Westin Xian!

Be well,

Linda Li
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,532 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,532 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,532 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
#3 of 2,532 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Xian

Property: The Westin Xian
Address: No.66 Ci'en Road, Qujiang New District, Xi'an 710061, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#1 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#39 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Xian 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in an exciting historic location, just steps from the Big Wild Goose Pagoda and Xian’s many cultural gems, as well as restaurants and an upscale shopping area. Guests also enjoy easy access to an array of multi-national companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Xian China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing