We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unimpressed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of XiAn JiaSan Tangbao Zi Guan (HuiMin Jie)

XiAn JiaSan Tangbao Zi Guan (HuiMin Jie)
Ranked #11 of 1,671 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: 150 Meters North of Drum Tower in Xi'an in Moslem Quarter
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Surprised at the rave reviews for this place as the dumplings were disappointing - reminiscent of cold ravioli. Admittedly it was full of Chinese - tourists not locals - and the service was quick and it was cheap. We later went to the Shaanxi Canton Palace 5 minutes walk from the Sofitel, which is Cantonese food, where the dumplings were much better and no more expensive, plus there is a huge Cantonese menu with pictures.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ndld425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    50
    38
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

The soup dumplings, cold noodles and cucumber garlic here are fantastic, and made a good bookend to a night of snacking around the mosque. The plum drink is especially good!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jctomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Terrific dumplings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had read great things about this restaurant, and they turned out to be true. The restaurant is huge; there are about 5 levels. The night we went almost every seat was taken and there was a line out the door when we were leaving. It is amazing to watch the servers carry stacks of steamer baskets piled high.

We thoroughly enjoyed everything we ordered: cucumber and garlic in sesame oil; mutton soup dumplings; beef soup dumplings; and liver in hot and sour sauce with celery. We drank the really addictive plum hawthorn juice. This place is terrific.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheLadyinRed03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Cheap, Quick, Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This little place has a variety of food on offer but specialises in dumplings. 10 meat dumplings will cost about 20 yuan (AU$3). They also do a plum drink that sounds awful but goes well with the dumplings. For 3 yuan (AU 50c) you have to try it.
Some staff speak a little English but there is a photo menu with English etc.
It's very fast service and really nice food.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BF_and_AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good vegetable dumplings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were reassured by the kind young ladies at the front door that there was plenty of vegetarian food available to us. Indeed, there is here! We had a great time, ordering and paying at a counter with well photographed pictures of the food choices on the wall. Then we were taken to a shared table (most seat at leat 8 persons). We had the steamed vegetable dumplings (10 to the basket), a cold mixed pickled vegetables that was deliciously spicy, and the house special cold sesame noodles. The noodles are wide, hand-pulled and wonderful! Our whole dinner cost 27 yuan (less than US$4.00. What a deal!

We had a great time walking the Muslim quarter at dusk, we seemed to be watching the entire country of China walk around us, as so many faces were so different from each other. Read the review below for good directions. The Great Mosque is a "do not miss" attraction that is spectacular.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MMA888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed XiAn JiaSan Tangbao Zi Guan (HuiMin Jie) also viewed

 

Been to XiAn JiaSan Tangbao Zi Guan (HuiMin Jie)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing